Holly and Plaid Holiday Nails

Hello my lovelies! I hope everyone’s holiday season is going really well. I find myself getting a touch of the holiday blues, but it happens pretty much every year, so at least I’m not surprised by it! The hustle and bustle of the season is very nice, but it definitely leaves me a little tired out.

This is a long way of saying I’m sorry for not posting more holiday goodies! But for today, here’s a nice festive nail art idea- Holly and Plaid.

For the plaid, you will need some striping nail art polishes- the type with a thin brush. If you don’t have any, you can just use a cheap thin paintbrush dipped in a bottle of polish to make the plaid. Clean it really well between colors so you don’t contaminate your polishes. But if you like nail art, it can be really useful to have a few striping polishes.  I used Color Club Art Club stripers and one random Japanese dollar store art polish.

Here’s how to do it! Click to make it larger.

If you’re not up for doing all your nails, just do a couple plaid ones for accents. You can use any colors for the plaid or base, but it looks best if the base is lighter and has fairly good contrast with your plaid colors.

Fa la la! Up tomorrow: Chanukkah nails!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Holly and Plaid Holiday Nails

  1. Rebecca says:

    I love these! I’ve been looking for an easy festive design that will look good on my short nails, and this totally fits the bill!!

    I’ve been feeling a bit blue this holiday season too so thanks for the pick-me-up!!

    Happy Holidays :)

  2. Lucy says:

    I think we all get a touch of the blues. I know I do. It’s just that Christmas will never be the same as when we were younger. Too many family members are gone. Everyone is doing there own thing. Health isn’t the best. I’d better stop since it’s making things worse! Oh well, I look at your nails and they cheer me up. You do wonderful work. Have a very Merry Christmas & Happy New year sweetie.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes, I think the holiday blues are pretty universal but one of those things that aren’t really mentioned. My family is getting smaller year by year, and I think the holiday season magnifies the loss.

      I hope my nails can be a little bright spot- I know it’s crazy, but I find it very useful to take pleasure in the little things! For me, it happens to be little shiny things, of course.

      I’m wishing you a wonderfully happy and healthy 2012- let’s hope it’s not as radioactive/shaky/scary as 2011!

  3. mskristiina says:

    Since the holidays are almost over I might leave off the holly but I am definitly trying out the plaid. Thanks!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Give it a go! The plaid is always a fun design. But holly can be a sort of winter thing as well- yesterday was just the official first day of winter! :(

  4. laura says:

    I can’t wait to try this. Thank you for the tutorial! I haven’t gotten the holiday blues, yet. I’m actually really inspired right now by everything I’m seeing on the blogs. Is it possible to be too inspired? I’m feeling mired in indecision over what I could do next.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad to hear you’ve dodged the holiday blues too and you are very welcome for the tutorial! Hmm, sometimes there are so many ideas out there that we can get a bit lost and wind up doing nothing! If I really can’t decide, I pick my top 3 and do one on my hands, one on my toes, and one on a friend! Or just try out the designs one nail at a time. But yes, I often find myself unable to decide too.

Leave a Reply

