Snowglobe Nails

I have no idea why I’ve been so into the idea of snow recently, but it seems to be showing up everywhere in my nail art. Must be subliminal messages from all the Christmas songs I’ve heard around. Oddly enough, I haven’t heard Wham!’s “Last Christmas” yet. It’s a Japanese favorite and is usually in heavy rotation during the holidays, but this year, it seems to have disappeared. (I’m OK with this!)

So, without further ado, here’s some snowglobe nails.

These are really easy and fun to do, but I recommend doing them on artificial nails because the cleanup can get a little tricky.

Here’s the steps:

1. Apply a couple coats of a silver glitter all over the nails.

2. Paint an upside down French tip in white on the bottom of the nail. This is the snow-covered ground.

3. Take a dotting tool and add a few random dots on each nail.

4. I used tiny 3-D clay snowmen and snowflakes for these nails, but you can also use decals.

It’s not too hard to paint a snowflake and tiny snowman. A painted snowman is just three white dots, black coal smile, 2 coal eyes, 3 coal buttons down the front. You can add a hat and scarf to keep him warm(er) if you like!

5. Finish the whole thing off with a good topcoat. I used Seche Vite on these. This look doesn’t last forever, but it’s a lot of fun for a party or event.  If you’re doing it on natural nails, paint a French tip on the top so it looks like snow is falling from the “sky.”

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowglobe Nails

  1. Lucy says:

    Those are so cool. Love your designs. I haven’t heard Wham’s Christmas song yet either. I’ve been playing all my Christmas CD’s. I have quite a few. I love the old time songs. Perry Como is my favorite.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy! I also love the really old Christmas songs and just played some Perry Como. Great minds think alike. Somewhere in my parents basement, we have all those old Christmas records. I miss them but at least there are CDs. But somehow it’s just not the same!

Leave a Reply

