Cosmic Purple

It was a gorgeous fall day in Tokyo that felt more like September than December. Beautiful blue sky, red maple leaves, crispy wind…it was just lovely. But it sort of made me feel more autumnal than Christmassy! I know, I know…bah humbug. I do have some snowflakes and other fun holiday designs to show you, but I just wasn’t feeling it on this particular day.

What I do have is…a purple layer franken. Purple and I have a strange relationship. I have almost more purple polish than any other color, despite the fact I really don’t like the way it looks on me. I can’t help buying it but I never want to wear it. The purples-that-look-almost-black are the worst waste for me, since I prefer just to wear straight black.

So, here’s Orly’s Out of This World from the Cosmix FX collection of last year. This collection was fun, but for some reason the polish was twice the price of the usual.

Maybe I got a dud bottle, but it had an odd sheerness and baldy spots that took four solid coats to get even.  I have the rest of the collection and didn’t have as much trouble with the bald spot issue, but it almost seemed that the base wasn’t adhering properly to the nail. Or something. Like I said, maybe a dud since I didn’t have any issues with the rest of the collection.

But…while this is a pretty purple, it just isn’t setting off my sparkle-0-meter, so I busted out a tried and true glitter weapon from my stash. It’s not really glitter, more like microglitter, but it adds up the sparkle factor quite a bit. It’s CND Effects Sapphire Sparkle. This is one coat over the 4 coats of Orly.

That’s more what I was looking for! This particular CND Effect is meant to be used as a topcoat over other polishes. It’s got some duochrome microglitter in it that flashes pink to indigo in different light.  In my opinion, this was much more ‘cosmic’ than the Orly alone.

To finish off the look, I just took my dotting tool and Color Club What A Drag (metallic silver). Make a big dot on the middle of the nail, and two smaller dots on the side. This gave me the sort of space-age manicure I was looking for, quick and easy. This might be fun for those of you who don’t like to go too over the top but want a little something extra on your mani.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Purples and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cosmic Purple

  1. Lucy says:

    I like the way this looks on you. Makes your skin look so pretty. The CND Effect really amped up the shimmer. Like it even better. The dots are adorable. The weather here in New Jersey was unseasonably warm. Just this past week it’s finally gotten to be in the 50′s. A few days it was in the 70′s. It was odd shutting off the heat & opening the windows. Doesn’t feel very Christmassy yet to me either.

  2. laura says:

    OotW with Sapphire Sparkle is what I expected OotW too look alone. Hmph! But nice save. If I understand things correctly, duochromatic pigments are as expensive to produce as holographic ones. Which is why I thought the Cosmic collection was more expensive. Except this year’s FX collection doesn’t have any duochromes, and it’s just as expensive. Hmph!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I’m pretty sure they were more expensive to produce but I can hardly believe $10/bottle. It definitely needed a glitter boost to be truly cosmic, that’s for sure. There were some dead-on dupes for the khaki polish in the Cosmic FX (I forget the name) as well. But I’m a sucker for the promise of duochrome and I fall for it every time! ;)

Leave a Reply

