Christmas Wrapping

Orly Glitz and Glamour is a pretty orangey gold textured foil, but I can’t get it to apply just right on my nails. I find it takes 3-4 coats to be opaque, and I still have some bald spots. This makes it a prime candidate for a franken!

So I mixed the Orly in with some Bordeaux Glitter pigment from Coastal Scents, and got a very nice festive color. I put in one pea-sized scoop of pigment to a puddle of polish about the size of a peach pit (oh, that’s hard to say!)

It yielded a nice, dense warm orange foil. This is two coats with one coat of Seche Vite, it might  have been better with two for perfect smoothness.

Of course, you guys know I can never leave nails alone, so…

Some stars and swirls from a Fauxnad plate. The finished manicure reminds me of holiday wrapping paper!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Wrapping

  1. Lucy says:

    Love that shade! I love foils. I don’t wear orange much but this one I owuld. Love the stamp.

  2. Kiki says:

    What is a fauxnad plate?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Haha, sorry. Konad is a metal stamping plate and the original (and probably best) nail stamp. Since then, some other companies have been making metal plates to use for nail art stamping, but they are generally Chinese-made non-branded ones (ie, fake Konad). So they’re generally called Fauxnad to distinguish them from the better-quality Konad originals. Don’t get me wrong, some are quite good, but some are so awful and poor quality that they have to be tossed.

  3. Looks nice :) And it does look like christmas wrapping paper xD

  4. Stephanie C. says:

    Gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

