Water Marbling Success!

Hi everyone! I’m back in Tokyo and super jet-lagged. My body is wide awake at around 2AM, but my mind is not quite sharp enough to paint since I need a lot of concentration for that. But… I finally got the hang of water marbling! I think the ambient temperature is just right and I used room temperature bottled water. I’m seriously thinking of getting a thermometer from the 100 yen shop (like a dollar store) and measuring the water temperature. The Japanese don’t use central heating so I think the last time I tried it, the room and water were both too cold and the polish sank straight to the bottom.

But lookee what we have here!

These remind me of those peppermint swirl candies. I added a topcoat that I mixed up from 1/2 Seche Vite, and 1/4 ┬áChina Glaze Shooting Star, a silver multiglittter and 1/4 China Glaze Party Hearty, a red gold and green multi-glitter. I had a bottle of Seche that was almost done, so I just mixed all two glitters in the bottle, rolled it like crazy, and then applied. It came out well- I didn’t want the glitter to be too dense and overwhelm the design, but it still has the nice Seche shine. I then finished it off with some little 3-D clay bits and some plastic dome rhinestones in random sizes.

To tell the truth, I’m not really feeling the fa-la-la since it must be 70 degrees here and the leaves are still on the trees, but I’ll be painting my buns off with some holiday themed-goodies since a lot of people are ready!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Water Marbling Success!

  1. PtiteMeve says:

    Wow! Really beautiful!
    They do look like candy :)

  2. Michelle says:

    I love the nails! They totally make me think of peppermint candy! I may have to try a white, red and green water marble mani for Christmas now. :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Give it a try because it is loads of fun! I don’t know if you’ve had success with the marbling before, but it took me FOREVER to get it right. I mostly had problems with the ambient room temperature- too cold and the polish sank in a ball, too warm and it dried right away. Have fun!

  3. Lucy says:

    These are delightful! Perfect Christmas nails. Little candy peppermints also. The nails came out perfect. Just the right amount of glitter also. My girlfriend put up the Christmas tree today. We’re not going to decorate it yet. Just enjoy the lights. Don’t know why she wanted it up so early. It’s a pre-lighted tree. Last year we put it in the big bag & dragging it to the closet. I had to go pee & asked her to help me move it. Well she said I could get by it. Of course I fell on top of it. This year we found out one row of lights won’t light. It’s amazing I didn’t break all the lights! She has to go buy a string of lights to wrap around the one section. The tree hasn’t made me anxious for Christmas yet! I’ve got too many Fall decorations up yet. Lots of leaves left of the trees also.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy! I’m glad you liked these and hope I didn’t make you too hungry for candy! :)
      Oh no, I’m sorry to hear about your Christmas tree mishap! I’m glad you can just get some lights to patch ‘er up and go on from there. I’m still into fall too- when I was back in the US I went to the mall on Nov. 1 and they were playing Christmas songs already. Whatever happened to Thanksgiving? I’m working on autumn nails still, I’m just not personally ready for the winter holiday yet but I know a lot of folks like to shop early.

  4. zoe says:

    You’ll start feeling fa-la-la when the highest is only 50 degrees and your radiator burns out from overuse.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Could be, but that won’t be till January or Febuary here. And, hard to believe, but central heating is very rare in Tokyo, so no radiator burnout. Just mild frostbite. ;)

  5. laura says:

    Ohh, the picture loaded this time around. For some reason it didn’t last time I visited. I thought you were being a great big tease. :P I’m not in a Christmasy mood yet but this is lovely and festive.

  6. joelyroely says:

    I like this one too. I cant wait to start trying out my nail art stuff!

  7. If you ever find out that exact water temperature…let me know! My tap water at home must be too cold…I’m trying again with room temp water next time! Thanks for the tip!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Leave the water out and let it get to room temp, but don’t let it in the sun or under the aircon- as close to the ambient temperature as possible. I aim for water that is neither hot or cold. If the polish dries immediately, it usually means it’s too warm. If it forms balls that sink quickly, it’s too cold. I’ll try to remember to grab a thermometer next time I make a run to the dollar store. But the success also depends on the water’s temp relationship to room temp, at least in my experience.

Leave a Reply

