Too Many Red Glitters?

Howdy everyone! I have a confession to make that I’m sure will surprise no one: I have too many red glitter polishes. This admittedly gorgeous yet not terribly unique shade is put out by almost every nail polish company, particularly around Christmas time, and I always buy a bottle! I just can’t help myself, it looks so festive and fun. But I’ve a LOT and have to do something with some of it, because I could probably paint my entire apartment in red glitter and still have some to spare.

So I fiddled a bit with some Color Club Ruby Slippers which is just a standard red glitter- nice, but standard and added some MAC Reflects Pearl Pigment to it. As usual, I poured out a half-dollar sized puddle of nail polish with a small pea-sized scoop of pigment.  I only mix enough for a single manicure since I get bored of color quickly!

I wasn’t sure what the end result would be, but it yielded a very sparkly fuschia. I’m not quite sure how it worked- I expected to have the red glitter stay red with bits of pearl shimmer, but it all mixed together nicely to create a fuschia glitter with a few specks of red here and there.  You can see the original color in the bottle.

Not an earth shattering color, but it opens up some possibilities as to what I might be able to do with some of my red glitter polishes.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Pinks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Too Many Red Glitters?

  1. I disagree–this is earth shattering! I absolutely adore it. Where do you pour your polish onto for mixing purposed? I need to do this. My latest post is also about nail polish and its possibilities, lol.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! :D I mix in a mini silicone baking cup- if there’s any polish left over, I just let it dry and then flip the cup inside out to pop out the polish, so there’s no cleaning chemicals necessary.

  2. beachgal says:

    I can never seem to get too many red glitters or too many fuchsia colored polishes! My eyes just go to them instantly. I do kind of watch out now for red glitters that border on super dark black looking with almost hidden glitter when on the nail – have been taken in a few times on those in that range and don’t need to go there again. One of those is enough in my stash., This is beautiful. I don’t have a place to buy Color Club – wish I did as it’s so hard to know the shades you want and order on line.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, the red glitters can be sneaky. A lot of dark shades look great in the bottle and just plain murky on the nail.

      Color Club is at least inexpensive enough (around $3/bottle) so that if it’s a dud, it’s not devastating to the wallet. They have a special place in my stash since they’re cruelty free/vegan AND affordable, which don’t usually go together.

      Despite all the red glitters I have, I know I’ll pick up whatever comes out in the winter holiday collections. :P

      • beachgal says:

        Holiday is a time I always look to the various polish lines to see what great reds they have come out with. OPI however has dropped it seems doing a holiday collection. This year once again it’s a movie theme – last year was Burlesque for holiday and this year it’s a Muppets collection much the same with 6 shades and 6 glitters.

      • beachgal says:

        I don’t have anywhere around here that sells Color Club so it’s not a great buy for me to take wild guesses and order on line, plus play shipping. I live in a semi rural area with not even a very good Rite Aide here – miles and miles to drive to get to a Wal-Mart or Target (as in all day trip). There is a half way decent CVS about 60 miles from me, but they are always major picked over in the polish dept…and they don’t carry Color Club.

  3. Lucy says:

    I know of your glitter obsession! I find it very hard to resist all glitter polishes. Red is a special favorite. This really came out amazing looking. I’d make a whole bottle of this!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Your version came out really nice! I’m on a polish “no-buy” right now as I have totally run out of space to store my collection!!

  5. sickitten says:

    Thanks for the silicone baking cup idea. Brilliant.

    I just purchases Milani’s Ruby Jewels which is a deep red, almost burgundy…so rich. A Medieval color like deep purple and Imperial yellow. Perfect to pair with a deep sapphire or emerald.

    I have the Make Up For Ever color palette & wondering if I can incorporate those pigments w/the polish?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Wow, that sounds nice! I’ll have to take a peek at some swatches. For the MUFE palette, do you mean the flash case with the creamy pigments or something different? I like the brand a lot but the only thing I have from them is the Flash Case, which is almost like oil paints.
      Anything powder-based can go into nail polish- use a brush to gently dust the powder into the baking cup or tray, or take a tiny teaspoon if it’s loose powder. Don’t be like me and just try to dump in loose pigment- I can’t tell you how many times too much pigment has fallen in and given me a soupy mess.

Leave a Reply

