(Radioactive) Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head

…but that doesn’t mean my flesh will soon be turning red!

Sorry everyone! That was a bit gruesome! Although it’s not in the news regularly, the Fukushima nuclear power plant is STILL leaking and now they’ve got a ton of radioactive coolant water to deal with. Ugh. I’m sure the Japanese government is thrilled that the foreign media has moved on. Tokyo Electric recently admitted they had 3 full meltdowns but thought it would be better to not reveal that information “in the interest of our shares crashing public safety.”

The executives should be in jail, but oddly enough, the Japanese public doesn’t seem to want their heads on a platter. If  a runaway nuclear power plant topped off by a serious cover-up that literally endangered the whole country doesn’t shake them up, NOTHING will. And it appears that it hasn’t. Probably the only thing that would cause mega-outrage here is if the government forbid the sale of designer goods. Ooh! Burn! That sounded meaner than I intended, but I can’t believe the apathy about everything that’s happened. The earthquake and tsunami were natural disasters, but the poor planning and non-existent risk management by Tokyo Electric contributed directly to a fully man-made disaster.  The cozy relationship between the nuclear power industry and the Japanese government is at the heart of this mess. They allowed lax standards, minimal supervision and inconsequential punishments for cover-ups. Why would Tokyo Electric have top-notch risk management plans and report incidents properly and promptly? They never had to before. And I’m sure life will go on as it always has for them as soon as the public puts this incident behind them. I’m deeply disappointed but it makes me feel a bit better about leaving Japan.

The reason I’ve been thinking about the nuclear ‘incident’ is that the rainy season has rolled in, and radiation travels in rain. I know it’s probably not a risk, but I don’t think I’ll be singing in the rain anymore, just so I don’t have to worry about it. I think the fear of the unknown is the worst! Given that the Japanese government is prone to hiding the truth, will not punish Tokyo Electric and in fact will help cover their butts when they lie through their teeth and say there’s no danger, I don’t trust any reports here.

So here’s my mani of the day: a gray mix (1/3 black and 2/3 white). Different blacks yield different gray tones, depending on the base color of the black. Sometimes you’ll get a blue-based gray, sometimes a warmer tone.  So play around a little with your black and white polishes!  This black was Revlon Luminous, which I think was scrounged from a Dollar Tree. It gave me a cool-toned gray. I added a little Konad umbrella and painted some red on it and topped it off with a franken glitter topcoat.

Oh, and the raindrops are green because they’re radioactive!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to (Radioactive) Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head

  1. kayleighmk says:

    However “gruesome” it is, that manicure is totally adorable and creative! I love the teardrop shaped green rhinestones!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I hope I didn’t cause the song to get stuck in your head- I’ve been humming it all morning. ;)

  2. Alaina says:

    So disappointing to hear the situation over there. Glad you’re alright and paying attention to what’s going on! Beautiful nails. :)

  3. August says:

    I’m so sorry about what’s going on over there. But the raindrops are so cute! The green and the gray go well together.

  4. Lucy says:

    Sorry I haven’t been around. Between Blogger problems, tooth pain and root canal I’m about to go through the roof. I don’t understand why the people of Japan aren’t furious and protesting loudly about this horrible mess. This is human life that is in trouble. God only know what will happen to people, animals, the ocean and the land. I’d be terrified. I guess you just want to put the borrible mess behind you and get on with your life. If it doesn’t immediately concern you than you can ignore it. Perfect manicure. I’m so glad you will be leaving the area. How are you getting on with moving your polish to go home? Take care sweetie.

  5. that is so terrible. but i think it is awesome how you turn issues into inspiration/art.

Leave a Reply

