Rough Seas

Well, after my franken success yesterday with the Girly Girl Pink, I was playing around with my MAC Reflects glitters, trying to come up with a cool microglitter shade.

Unfortunately, I got something very lumpy today, but it turned out to be kind of interesting in the end. But I’m getting ahead of myself!

I love the color of the Coastal Scents Ultramarine Blue pigment. It’s a full-on ultramarine/deep periwinkle matte shade. I figured I’d make a glittery periwinkle with a flashy teal glitter. Nope, not meant to be.

The Ultramarine Blue darkened quite a bit when dissolved in clear polish, which would have been OK but I had a bad, bad case of the lumpies. This is not Coastal Scent’s fault, most very matte pigments are chalky and don’t play well in nail polish. It mixed up but then I kept getting little lumpy bumps on every nail. I mashed it up rather violently (careful, this makes air bubbles) and then let it settle for a few minutes to get rid of the bubbles. After that, the polish thickened too much so I added thinner.  Finally I just added the glitter and got on with it. After a rather painstaking application, this is what I got (2 coats topped with Seche.)

Pretty but not worth the pain. If you like this color family, try Orly’s Royal Navy. It is GORGEOUS and has none of the application problems this franken did.

The lumps were driving me crazy, so I stuck some white stars and red rhinestones on it. At least now I feel like I’m sort of rocking a Wonder Woman type look. But instead of a Lasso of Truth, I have a Truckload of Glitter. Not much of a superpower but at least it’s sparkly!

 

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rough Seas

  1. Aunt Lizzie says:

    very nice just in time for flag day

  2. Laynie says:

    Oh honey, it may be a bit lumpy, but OMG SO PRETTY!!! That is the sort of blue that I LOVE… shame the pigment is so hard to work with.

    I wonder if you could try to work a bit of it into a small portion of liquid, then work that into a larger bit, rather than trying to dump it directly into the polish? You know, like when you’re cooking.

  3. August says:

    It’s so patriotic!

  4. Lucy says:

    Are you doing your Wonder Woman spin? Love the beautiful shade of blue. Shame it’s such a lumpy mess. I love the stars and gems. Your ready to fight the bad guys!

Leave a Reply

