Grandma’s Wallpaper

It looks like the rainy season has settled in here in Tokyo…it’s either steaming hot with drizzle, or freezing cold. But I guess it wouldn’t be Asia without a little rain. Today is kind of a gloomy Monday, so I came up with a sort of putty gray/purple color.

This is Fyrinnae’s Glass Coffin pigment mixed with clear nail polish. (And no, they’re not paying me for this- I’ve been going through my pigment stash lately and doing some experimenting!) It’s a silvery gray shimmer with a hint of lavender in the mix. Most interesting is the tiny red micromicro glitter, but it didn’t show up on the nail.

It yielded a sort of very slightly speckled putty color. The finish was smooth- this is 2 coats. It sort of reminds me of tweed suits and actually would be a much better fall color than summer, actually!

So it got the Konad treatment with sort of a damask pattern that reminds me of old wallpaper. Confession: I flubbed on one nail, so I painted a long “v” french tip that extended all the way across the nail vertically. I like it- reminds me of old Art Deco doorways. I’m sure I didn’t invent it, but I like the look of this extended tip a lot and it covers up my boo-boo, so it’s a double win!

Finished off with a coat of Seche.

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Konad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Grandma’s Wallpaper

  1. Laura says:

    I love this! Gorgeous :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Laura! You must have some vintage flair then- it’s a bit unusual, to be sure! Glad you liked it. :)

  2. Paola says:

    Love! I’m a sucker for grey polishes and I’ve looking for a color like that for ages. The konad adds interest, but i think the color works by itself too. really pretty!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Paola! The trick in this one is a bit of warm-toned lavender. Definitely not a color for everyone but I like some of the weirder shades- glad you do too!

  3. Rebecca says:

    I agree with Paola, the grey is pretty! It reminds me of cement, but in a good-edgy way :)

  4. Christie says:

    looks amazing eith the black pattern, almost like lace :)

  5. Christie says:

    i meant with the black pattern …

  6. Deniz says:

    awesomeness! I must try this myself =)

  7. nikki says:

    i would love to know which konad plate you used.. i love the nail art so much.. great look… thanks : )

  8. Lucy says:

    Your mistakes are always beautiful. Love the vintage feel. Turned out just perfect, no mistakes made.

Leave a Reply

