Here, Fishie, Fishie!

Today I have a nice summer franken to show you, then I got a little crazy with the nail art!

This blue was mixed from Fyrinnae Curiouser and Curiouser, a medium blue pigment with aqua microshimmer. I even did a swatch, but I’m pretty lousy at the swatching. The upper swatch is applied dry, the lower is applied over a shadow primer (Too Faced, if I remember correctly). By the way, Fyrinnae is vegan for those of you looking for some vegan-friendly/cruelty-free cosmetics. I have only ordered a couple times from them but I like their range.

I mixed a pea-sized amount of pigment with CND Sapphire Sparkle Effects, a clear polish with blue/indigo microglitter. It’s meant to be a topcoat, but is good for mixing up shimmery frankens, though a bit pricey to use like that every day. You could also mix clear polish, the pigment and then some glitter of your own. But I’m lazy today and just grabbed my CND.

This is three thin coats with a coat of Seche Vite on top, though I think two coats would have been enough. This is a nice summer blue, I think. But….

…I wanted some goldfish for today! This is actually really quick and easy. I used Nubar Nail Art pens, which are a bit tricky to get the hang of but are some of the best on the market. Don’t bother with most of the ones on Ebay, they are lousy. I bought a set and had to throw more than half of them out right away. Glunky, leaky…just plain crummy.

First, do the whirlpool swirly in white (hope the fish don’t swim into it, or they might get dizzy!). Then draw a little wavy vertical line with the green, add some “v” shapes for the leaves, and you’ve got floating plants. Next,  I used a dotting tool to add the stones on the bottom, using China Glaze Classic Camel (I think that’s the name) and Prize Winning Mare. I did cheat and use goldfish decals but they’re pretty easy to paint- just an orange oval for the body and some red dashes for the tail and fins. Finally, add some white bubbles with the dotting tool and you’re done!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Here, Fishie, Fishie!

  1. Laura says:

    That is a very beautiful franken, and the nail art is ADORABLE! I absolutely love it :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Laura! I like the goldfish too- they make me feel peaceful. I might try this on my toes since I feel like I’m killing the goldfish when I take off the mani!

  2. Andrea says:

    I love your blog! I always just get whatever polishes that are on sale at the drug store, but I know you only use quality brands that aren’t tested on animals. Which brands do you recommend?

    Thanks!
    Andrea

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Andrea! Thanks for stopping by the blog!
      The “bad guys” are L’Oreal, Maybelliene and Sally Hansen, and recently OPI and Essie were acquired by companies that test, unfortunately.
      Revlon used to but has flip-flopped and is still on the side of the good guys, allegedly.

      My favorite mass-market brands are Orly, China Glaze and Color Club. I buy them online, but you can get them at Ulta, Sally’s Beauty and some salon supply shops.

  3. says:

    Great!
    I lvoe this mani!!
    So cute!

  4. Rebecca says:

    This is totally adorable :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      :D I can’t get enough goldfish so I was sad to take it off, but I had to make way for something new!

  5. Lucy Pinto says:

    Your art work and frankens are always outstanding. How are you doing? I haven’t heard anything in the news about Japan. Is there anything new happening for the good? I hope so. (((hugs))

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you, Lucy! We’re holding up here, but things are still sketchy. Tokyo Electric admitted that they had 3 full meltdowns and the real levels of radiation were DOUBLE what they reported in the first few weeks. They are getting busted as the IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) is reviewing the data and doing interviews. The nuclear power industry here was so tight with the Japanese government that they weren’t really punished at all and in fact, Tokyo Electric are getting a bailout from taxpayers. For shame. But they can’t bribe the IAEA or international investigators, so the truth is coming out bit by bit. I think they wouldn’t have even admitted to ANY leaks unless the foreign media had been around. I really think the executive staff from Tokyo Electric should be in jail or at least on trial for gross negligence.

      Whew, sorry to write a book there! I just feel very strongly about it and I think they should be strung up at high noon. Or at the very least, the executives should be on the site cleaning up nuclear waste. How about that?

  6. August says:

    awww! I love fishies, and that is just too cute!

Leave a Reply

