Happy Friday Manicure

Yesterday was  my last Friday of doing The Activity Which I Can’t Mention in Detail That I Used To Do 40 Hours A Week.

I whipped up the mani my Friday morning, scrambled around putting on pantyhose with one hand and taking a nail photo with the other, and then….left the camera’s memory card in the bathroom when I went to brush my teeth. I ran around trying to find the card so I could upload the post, but then I was getting late to work. I have also left a razor blade in a bag of Cheetos (I have NO idea how that happened) and  rhinestones in the spice rack.  I know that means I’m really distracted because I’m too tired. Thank goodness I’m not operating heavy machinery! My brain tends to hibernate when I get in this state, that’s fore sure. But I’ll have a lot more free time on my hands from next week, so I won’t have to run around like crazy.

Normally, I’m not a yellow person since it’s streaky and clashes with my skintone, but it is one of the most cheery colors I can think of.  The base color is a 1/3  mix of China Glaze Lemon Fizz, clear polish  and a medium yellow from the dollar store, plus a little pearl white pigment. I then added some MAC Reflects Pearl Glitter to make it a bit shimmery, but it kind of got overwhelmed in the pearl pigment. For any glitter, a more transparent base is better because it allows the glitter to show though better.

From there, I painted on some black and white ribbons and bows and topped it off with a coat of Seche Vite.  Not my usual style, but it was still work-appropriate (at least for my last Friday!)

Have a nice weekend everyone! Tokyo has a typhoon warning at the moment, so it looks like it’s going to be a windy, rainy weekend.  Boo!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Yellows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Friday Manicure

  1. Kathleen says:

    So cute! I love the color combination.

  2. August says:

    it’s chic! the new york color yellow looks really bad on my nails. on my toes it looks better. I think i might try something like this

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yellow is REALLY hard to wear. It’s like the problem child of nail polish- try a coat of white on your nails first. Sometimes that helps.

  3. Chris says:

    Looks good. Like most, yellow is not my fave colour, the only time I use it is if I am doing my rainbow toes! A different colour on each!!
    Keep safe.
    Chris

  4. Lucy says:

    Love this manicure. Yellow is such a bright and happy shade. There’s so many shades that there’s something to go with your skin tone. Have you found a way to send your nail polish? I hope so. Your going to have a fantastic new adventure. I wish you so much luck and love. Can’t wait to hear how everything goes.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I’m going to send some NP home by sea mail, bring a suitcase full home when I go to visit, and paint my butt off between now and when I leave to try and use up the rest. I’ll be here for a while longer but now that I’ve lost my job, it’s a bit more urgent to think up What Comes Next. I’ll keep you posted and thanks for the good wishes!

  5. Lauryn says:

    I noticed your comment in a previous post that OPI is now a company that tests on animals. I was doing some research on this earlier today, and according to PETA, although Coty, the parent company of OPI, tests on animals, OPI does not. Here is a link to the email from PETA I found on someone’s blog:

    http://deathbypolish.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/opi-and-essie-animal-testing/

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for letting us know some more detail. I won’t be using OPI anyway since I don’t want to support Coty- plus there are so many other choices out there that are truly cruelty-free.

Leave a Reply

