OPI Sorta Like This Color

I’ve been going through my stash of polish, trying to weed out colors that I never use. Some were bought online and I found I didn’t like the color, others clashed with my skintone, or others were too sheer for my taste. I don’t bother with any color that takes more than four coats in general- I just don’t have the patience.

So, today’s unloved color was OPI Love This Color! If they’d been more honest, they would have called it OPI Am Bored To Death By This Color. Actually, that’s a bit harsh. It’s not a bad color- it’s a darkish red/burgundy sort of shade with some frosty shimmer type goodness. This is my least favorite finish anyway, espeically when paired with this shade that is neither dark enough to be vampy or vibrant enough to be bright. I had no problems mixing this shade into oblivion, though I did swatch it first for reference.

First, here she is straight up, no frankening:

Not offensive but not interesting in the least.

A mix of half OPI Love This Color, half creme red (any shade will do) and a pea-sized scoop of metallic russet pigment. I used  Coastal Scents Rousillion Pearl Pigment. The reason I added the creme red was to give some depth. If I’d just added the pigment to the polish without the creme red, it would have come out as a super-frosty finish.  I don’t like that particular look, so I added the red. If you like frost, add it straight in and mix away!

Still not a terribly unique color, but this truer red is more wearable, I think. But still, it needed something else.

You guys have got to know by now what that would be……glitter, of course!!

Two coats of CND Sapphire Sparkle gave it a bluer hue, making the red look a bit more purple and giving the whole color a fuschia appearance and some pizzaz.  Doesn’t glitter make everything better?

The CND Effects are pretty nice, though I feel that only the Sparkles are really worth getting.  They are an easy way to change up your polish- basically just a collection of fancy topcoats that add another dimension to polish. For those of you who’d like to make a unique color but aren’t ready to start mixing, these are a fun way to do a layer franken and experiment with color without getting too messy.

The Effects do dry fairly glossy but it’s best to have some Seche Vite or quick-dry topcoat to seal them with since I find the drying time can be quite slow. Then again, that could also have something to do with me piling on the glitter more thickly than I should.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Reds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to OPI Sorta Like This Color

  1. Libby says:

    I’m on the same boat w/ you about this OPI color. It’s too… old ladyish and ho-hum. Nothing unique about it… however, with a coat of CND Sparkle, it looks like a pretty color! I love the CND Effects, but I haven’t purchased any yet since there are several that I like that all seem similar.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      The best and most versatile of the CND Effects are the sparkles, in my opinion. They all look pretty similar in the bottle but the mciroglitter color pops really well over dark shades. The shimmers and other effects didn’t do much for me. There was a CND “tweed texture” one that was positively revolting- it made the nails look like they had sheet marks on them, like after when you go to bed with slightly wet nails.

  2. August says:

    I love glitter too! How do you remove it? Any tips? I always have a tough time getting it off.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Some folks swear by using felt soaked with acetone remover as it’s a little more scrubby and takes off the glitter quicker. I put acetone-soaked cotton pads on my nails for a few minutes to soften it up and then use a fresh cotton pad to clean off the glitter. After that, I brush on some cuticle oil all over the nail and cuticle and do another swipe with the cotton pad. That gets off most of it, usually.

  3. Laura says:

    I like it, both before frankening and after. The glitter adds a nice touch :)

  4. Kathleen says:

    This is wonderful! I find I have a hard time with reds matching my skin coloring as I am very pale and red brings out my red undertones, but I can’t stop buying it. I like what you did with the glitter to add the blue hue, it really changed the ordinary aspect of the shade.

    I do have a question on Top Coats and was hoping you could help or do an artical about them spacifically.

    I use ‘Sally Hansen’s Acryllic Top Coat’ and find that after my nails dry, there are tiny bubbles under the top coat, ruining the designs I had just worked on for two days.

    Do you know how to stop this, or have any other recomendations for a good top coat that won’t cause this issue?

    Kat

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kat! I’m glad you liked them! To avoid bubbles in the topcoat, here’s some tips:

      1. Don’t shake it before applying, roll it if it needs to be mixed. You can put it in your pocket to warm it a bit before applying and for better flow.

      2. Topcoats I use and recommend: Seche Vite, Posche (very similar in my opinion). They are thicker than normal polishes and have to be rolled/patted on gently over the nail rather than brushed on, but once you get the hang of it, these topcoats are a dream.

      3. Don’t go over an area you have already topcoated. If you find a baldy spot, wait until the topcoat is dry and apply another coat,preferably of slighty warm topcoat.

      Hope this helps and let me know if you’re still having problems!

  5. Lucy says:

    I like the original shade. Makes your skin look so pale and pretty. Like a cute little vampires! Love how you just fixed it up, kapow! Love the glitter.

  6. Wazzra says:

    it would have look awesome with red glitter too :)

Leave a Reply

