Plutonium Green

All right, I went for the glittery version of the plutonium, as everyone recommended!

This color1/3 OPI* Ski Till We Drop, 1/3 OPI Who The Shrek Are You, and 1/3 of that super-streaky Essie *Funky Limelight, then added a bunch of various green glitters to it. I then added some of that China Glaze glow in the dark polish that came out last Halloween to the mixture and applied one more coat. This is three thin coats.

And yes, those are three little eyes on the Plutonium Green that I made with my dotting tool. Before anyone accuses me of insensitivity, I’ve been straight downwind of the Fukushima mess since Day 1 and I’m a Japanese taxpayer to boot, so I’m going to call these nails a social commentary. Sometimes you’ll have to laugh or you’ll cry, especially after the last few weeks like we’ve had here. As far as the Japaense news is reporting, nobody’s died yet due to the runaway nuclear power crisis, in which case I would not be so inclined to immortalize the situation on a manicure.

And they glow in the dark! I was actually looking for little wiggly eyes as the perfect finishing touch but didn’t find any small enough.

*For those of you just joining (welcome!), Essie and OPI used to be cruelty-free brands that didn’t conduct animal testing, but both companies have since been purchased by companies that do test on animals. I’m using up my stash of what I bought prior to the acquision but will not be buying any new items from them. And for the rest of you folks who do know how I feel about animal testing, sorry to bring the point repeatedly- I just don’t want any new readers to think that OPI and Essie are still cruelty-free.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Plutonium Green

  1. Rebecca says:

    These are great!! Wish I could see what they looked like in the dark :P

  2. Pink says:

    So nice, I love this color^^

  3. This is exactly what I was imagining when I read your previous post… great job!

  4. Ariane says:

    Love it! The color looks really good…

  5. Rabbit says:

    This is a very beautiful plutonium ;)

  6. Zara says:

    I love it! This is definitely a color that makes me think “radioactive.” :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I was aiming for screamin’ green radioactivity visible from 50 meters! ;) Glad you liked it!

  7. Lucy says:

    So sorry you even had to come up with this polish. Looks great. You need a nail that is screaming!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That’s a great idea! Maybe I could do some 3-d experimentation and sort of melt a plastic nail over a candle flame then paint it to get the full effect….

Leave a Reply

