OPI Ink Redux

Life is almost back to normal here in Tokyo, except for power cuts, stores being dark, and a cutback on subway service. So it’s time to get back on the glitter wagon!

I chose purple for today. For some reason it seemed like a good choice for a Monday. The days are getting longer and the sky here is a beautiful blue, but it’s pretty darn cold for end of March in Tokyo, so I don’t quite feel ready for all those pink pastel polishes. It just doesn’t feel like spring yet.

I love purple and I tend to prefer the darker shades, but I’m always a little disappointed when they look great in the bottle but not on my nails. A lot of purples look black in most light. Boo! Of course, this doesn’t stop me from buying new purple shades and hoping they’ll be somehow different.

OPI Ink looks gorgeous in the bottle- a deep cool-toned purple with lots of microshimmer that looks like it shifts color in the light. I may have gotten a dud bottle, but on my nails it just looks like a deep purple with a tiny bit of shimmer. By the way, for those of you who might not have known, OPI was acquired by Coty at the end of 2010. OPI used to be cruelty free, but Coty is not. I’m using up my existing OPI stash but not buying any new bottles.

So here’s my glittertastic re-work of OPI Ink. I added an apple-seed sized amount each of MAC Reflects Teal glitter and MAC Reflects Very Pink glitter to OPI Ink. The middle finger is just plain OPI Ink. Still a pretty shade but it doesn’t look purple enough for me.

Here’s the MAC Reflects Transparent Teal (l) and MAC Reflects Very Pink glitters. The left is the old standard size, and the right is the new size (less product for more price). But I do have to say a little of these goes a LONG way. They’re about $20 USD each or so but I haven’t managed to finish one yet!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to OPI Ink Redux

  1. Lucy says:

    I guess eventually everything goes back to normal. Something new comes up on the news. Time to take out the glitter! I love how the pigment adds some gorgeous dimension to Ink. Take care!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! There are still reports of workers getting horrible doses of radiation because the power plant didn’t provide them proper safety suits, etc. I’m glad I’m sort of far away but I’ll feel a whole lot better when I’m on another continent!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Your version is so much better, the original looks navy to me. Glad to hear things are improving, hang in there!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Rebecca! The original is a dark cool toned purple. I don’t know if I got a dud bottle or what, but I felt it needed some glitter (of course!)

  3. Arie says:

    I like it much better with the glitter.
    I don’t own many OPI just a few I found one once at a yard sale and one my mother in law gave me :), to me they are pricey anyways, imo it’s better to get two bottles of CG instead one of OPI, just a personal preference.
    So glad to hear that things are almost back to normal. Take care!.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Arie! I think OPI was a little pricey too- I’d rather have 3 Color Clubs or 2 China Glazes for sure. Thanks again for your kind words.

  4. Minta says:

    So good to see you back! I was wondering where you’d disappeared to. :) I gotta say I’m lovin the Ink with your improvements.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Minta! Glad you liked it. Somehow, even in the shadow of NUCLEAR DOOM! there’s work to be done, errands to complete, and dentist appointments. But I’m back on the glitter wagon!

  5. Libby says:

    This was on my TBL (to buy list, lol), but since I have rather tanned hands, I didn’t think it would look suitable on me. Pity because it’s a gorgeous color on you! The MAC mixed versions look pretty as well!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Libby- glad you liked it! If your skin isn’t ghostly white like mine, you might find a warmer-toned purple looks better. I’m still not crazy about this one, even glittered-out.

  6. Rabbit says:

    Colour looks great after uppgrade. Glitter adds a lot of light to this polish.

  7. Laurianna says:

    Glad things are starting to get back to normal for you. I teach middle school and told my assistant principal about your blog as a window in to what it’s like for one person over there. She immediately emailed our social studies teacher to see if she could read parts of your blog to the class if applicable to her lessons involving Japan.

    The OPI Ink looks much better your way. Did you add that much glitter to the amount you frakened? OR did you add that much glitter to the whole bottle?

    Thanks!, – L

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, thanks! Feel free to use anything and everything I’ve posted. They’ve just found plutonium in the soil and three workers were injured, which I was going to discuss, butI didn’t want to be too much of a bummer.

      I use a silicone baking cup and just mix enough frankenpolish for one manicure, just in case I hate the color! In this case is was a quarter-sized dollop of polish and two apple-seed sized piles of glitter.

      • Laurianna says:

        Thanks for answering my question! Also, you are very gratious about sharing your thoughts and letting our teacher use them if she can!

        Take care of yourself!
        L

  8. Melissa says:

    Yours is gorgeous!!!!

    BTW, sending positive thoughts your way…..so much love for Japan and the Japanese people and culture….May this all be over soon and may we all be able to look back on it from a better place!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much, Melissa! It’s really appreciated. I hope something good does come out of this and at least all nuclear power plants worldwide will re-think their disaster plans.

  9. Hermione says:

    Your version is way better! Wish you were making the nail polish.

Leave a Reply

