Improving on Zoya Akyra

While I always like a good dark green polish, I’m not all that fond of shimmers. And sheer-ish green shimmers are somewhere at the bottom of my list.  Zoya’s Akyra is…you guesssed it…a sheer green shimmer. The color does build nicely after 3-4 coats, but I don’t have that kind of patience unless it’s a color I really love.  I think I got this in Zoya’s Going Green promotion a year or so ago, because this isn’t the kind of color I’d normally pick. By the way, I do like Zoya’s formula and cruelty-free policy, but I’m just not into these kinds of colors.

So I did what I usually do when I don’t like a polish…franken time! For those of you who know me at all, that means there is glitter involved. This one was very simple- I just added a bit of MAC’s Reflects Teal glitter to the Akyra. (A side note- if Akyra is pronounced like the Japanese name “Akira,” it’s a boy’s name. Just a little cross-cutural info tidbit. )

I just made enough frankenpolish for one manicure, so I added a pea-sized scoop of glitter to a teaspoon of nail polish. 

The MAC glitter is pretty expensive but a little goes a long way. This is the old size glitter- they’ve changed it to smaller size with a bigger price. :(

Check out the result! Just for comparison’s sake, 3 coats of just plain Akyra are on my ring finger.

So what do you think? I like the glittery version, but I’m sure that’s not a surprise to anyone.

Stop by soon for some Valentine’s Nail art ideas- sorry to wait until the last minute but there’s a lot going on here.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Improving on Zoya Akyra

  1. Yes, the glitter took me from ‘like it’ to ‘love it’. :)

  2. Lucy says:

    I agree with you on everythings better with glitter. You’ve made this a much better looking polish.

  3. Rebecca says:

    Huge improvement!!

  4. Silva says:

    I like yours better, it looks so pretty with the glitter :)

Leave a Reply

