Skin Food Singapore Nail Polish- Part 1

I recently went to Singapore and couldn’t find much polish- until some local readers commented and directed me to a few places- thanks very much for directing me to some glitter!

I found a trove of sparkly wonders at a shop called Skin Food. I was able to confirm beforehand that this brand is cruelty-free, so I went ahead and bought a bunch of polishes there. It appears to be a Korean company and the focus is on skincare.  The shop was all blonde wood and white cabinets and jars of alfalfa-looking stuff and wheat-germ facial masks. But…there was a wagon of super-sparkly polish! It didn’t seem to quite fit in with the organic theme but I never complain when sparkliness is involved.

None of the polishes seem to have names. The Nail Vita polishes were $5.80 SGD which I think is around $4 USD and the Pedicure Sparkles were $7.80SGD or about $5.50 US. All of them applied really well, but the Pedicure Sparkles were the best- two thin coats that dried quickly, then totally opaque. But do shake them up really well first.

So here’s the pics! All are two coats with one coat of Seche though they didn’t really need it.

Pretty cranberry sparkle, totally smooth with tiny shimmer particles. The picture doesn’t do it justice!

Dark indigo shimmer with larger indigo and warm purple shimmer. More sparkly in the bottle but still a nice color with some depth to it, especially in the light.

I don’t know why my fingers look so long and compressed in this photo. But anwyay, this is a nice warm rose gold. Just not on me.

This is one of my favorite golds. It’s a lot more yellow-toned than some of the warmer “holiday” golds I’ve  seen- it looks like the gold foil that Cadbury bars used to be wrapped in, melted. Very shiny and festive, though I’m not quite in the holiday spirit yet, as you can probably tell by my last post. I’ve heard “Last Christmas” approximately 200 times already, including one instance where the music was piped into the ladies room at a department store (wouldn’t want to miss a note while we were doing our business!) and two J-Pop versions of “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus,” which is another holiday (non) favorite of mine.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Metallic, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Skin Food Singapore Nail Polish- Part 1

  1. Serikiyo says:

    Oooooh!!! That Gold!!!! :-O!!!
    I have yet to find a good gold, one that doesn’t look cheep. That gold is perfect! :D

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yeah, this is a unique one in that it really looks like gold bullion, rather than a more brassy gold. I’ll let you know if I find any dupes in my stash, but my color eye detects this one is pretty unique.

  3. Wazzra says:

    I would love to see a color combination of a scarlet and that gold, it would look amazing!

  4. Lucy says:

    They are all really pretty. I’ve seen them before on someone’s blog. The cranberry and the gold are my favorites.

  5. Just wanted to let you know, Skin Food recently opened up in Tokyo – in Harajuku I believe. I love their concept!

  6. Zara says:

    These all look gorgeous! Too bad they don’t have names.

  7. Silva says:

    Those are so pretty! I like the last two best.

  8. heliumhead says:

    hey!
    i’ve been reading your blog for ages along with numerous other polish blogs and i came across a post some time ago about skin foods polishes having some dangerous chemicals in them! i don’t know if they’ve changed the formula since then, but i’ll leave you with a link to the blog post and the article it refers to so you can make up your own mind! :)

    http://ilovenailpolish.blogspot.com/2010/08/dangerous-toxins-in-skin-food-polishes.html

  9. Lizzie says:

    Love all the colors and hope you have a happy birthday

  10. Lizzie says:

    love all the colors and happy birthday

  11. DivaShop says:

    Ooo, that cranberry red is gorgeous & so is the gold. Luv, luv, luv! I found your website through the Sharpie website.

  12. julie says:

    as a follow up to helium head- here are more details about skin food and dangerous toxins:

    Products involved are Skinfood Jojoba Pure Nail PK004 and Milk Creamy Nail Base Coat. The two products were found to contain 9.7 and 11 ppm of Benzene respectively.

    In a faxed statement accompanied by lab reports, the company said levels of the compound linked to cancers such as leukemia were well within acceptable limits according to South Korean standards.

  13. Angella says:

    Where did you get this gold nail polish? This one is exactly what I have been looking for!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! I got this one in Singapore. The company is called Skin Food, I think they’re primarily an Asian brand.

  14. t says:

    Do you know that your photos are on this site? I thought I’d alert you just in case you didn’t give permission.

    http://www.rongrean.com/kommuz/viewProduct.do?clubId=3786&shopCategoryId=20245&productId=57306

    Regardless, I love these colors. Despite some of the US manufacturers making good metallic foils, I have yet to find a really nice, light gold. Most seem weighed down by a tarnished brass look. The pink is pretty danged sweet too. Thanks for the eye candy!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Dang, I didn’t know! Thanks for telling me. I asked them to stop using them, but it never happens. I don’t mind if people use them for inspiration, but I don’t want people using them for commercial purposes. :( But thanks for the heads up! I might have to start watermarking my photos, but it ruins the whole look.

Leave a Reply

