Halloween Splatter Nails

I am fully aware that these are not in the best of taste, but Halloween is all about being a little over the top, right? Here’s my Splatter Nails.

Yuck!

I recommend doing this design on fake nails spread out on a newspaper rather than your natural nails unless you’re prepared to do a lot of cleanup.

This is very messy to do but the end result is worth it.

I messed around with a couple different color nails, dark flesh tone and pale flesh tone. I was thinking the darker ones would look a bit more zombie like and diseased, but I liked the lighter ones better after seeing them on.  I got my pale white-girl flesh tone by mixing Misa Hot Couture (tannish creme) with white, drop by drop until I got the shade I wanted.

Next, I mixed up a blood color with red creme and brown creme polish (both Japanese dollar store specials) in my silicone baking cup. I would actually recommend using acrylic paint instead because it’s cheaper, easier to work with, and has better flow.

I saturated my fan brush with the “blood” and then bent the brush bristles upward and released them. This caused the splattering.  I also loaded up the brush and let it drip onto the nails. Sorry I have no pictures, my hands were getting pretty messy by then! Probably an easier way would be to use an old toothbrush, load it up with paint, and hold it bristles down over the surface. Then rake a toothpick along the bristles to get the splatter. This would probably make a finer pattern of spray, though. This is one of those techniques you have to play around with. But make sure you’ve got newspaper down or something because the paint tends to fly everywhere. You could also do this on clear nails for a more subtle creepy effect.

So put these on and get ready to gross people out! If there was trick or treating in Japan, this is probably what I would be wearing when I passed out the candy.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Halloween Splatter Nails

  1. Deniz says:

    GORE! This looks so real and awesome =)
    Looks like “I just killed someone for the sake of nail art”. LOL!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Creepy! They’re very effective!

  3. April Brooks says:

    Super love!!! I did the same thing about a week ago in honor of the new Dexter and Halloween. I had my boyfriend do the spattering since I’m not very coordinated. My favorite Halloween nail look for sure! I’ll be posting mine soon and I’ll post a link to yours. Gorgeous!

  4. Zara says:

    This looks awesome! I definitely need to try this sometime during the month.

  5. Danielle says:

    I love! Creative and wearable. Just what I like :)

  6. amusedPolish says:

    i love the effect :o

  7. Adyanna79 says:

    You have a lot of talent.

    I am amazed that you can make something like that look so easy to wear.

  8. Lucy says:

    I think you should wear this to work!! Scare the hell out of people. Love this look. I think this is my favorite Halloween nail look. Love, love, love it.

  9. This is awesome! you’ve got good nails and a very good hands of art. I guess this is one way how we can express ourselves too. Are you a painter or an artist? Because you can easily convert your nails into a canvass though. Thanks for posting.

  10. Namine says:

    Awesome! I love all of your nail designs but this one is my ultimate fav! <3

  11. Jone says:

    Omg. I tried doing this and it came out horrible D: help me!!

  12. Pingback: Nail Your Halloween! | Seventeen

  13. Pingback: Nail Your Halloween! « News Screen – Unerasia

  14. Pingback: Physics Games

  15. Pingback: Check Out My Splatter Nails in the Huffington Post + Some Dia De Los Muertos Nails! | Nevertoomuchglitter's Weblog

  16. Pingback: Halloween Week 2011: Dexter Party Concept - PopBetty

Leave a Reply

