Simple Ghosts Halloween Nail Art Tutorial

Here’s a simple but fun Halloween nail art idea: ghosts! All you need is some white and black polish and a dotting tool, Sharpie marker or small paint brush.

I used some artificial oval-shaped nails for maximum ghostie impact, but these could be done on any length nails.

First, paint the nails white. I used OPI Alpine Snow Matte. The matte dries fast and is very opaque. This is two coats.

And since I’m a glitter troll, I added a shimmery glittery polish (Creative Glow).

It softened the white and added some shimmer.

To make the ruffly bottom of the ghost, draw some upside down “u” shapes on the bottom cuticle. Then fill it in. Use a nail art pen, Sharpie marker or nail polish/acrylic paint and a brush. I used a Sharpie for the outline and then filled in with nail polish and a small brush.

Now the fun part! Use your dotting tool, paintbrush or marker to make eyes, eyebrows and a mouth on each nail. The dotting tool is very useful for nail art- I recommend getting one if you like doing your own nail art. Make pupils by putting a white dot in a larger black dot and then a smaller black dot in the white dot.

So there it is: Quick and easy ghosts for Halloween!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Simple Ghosts Halloween Nail Art Tutorial

  1. Rebecca says:

    This is super cute!!

  2. Arie says:

    Cute!, the oval-shape nails are perfect for this one :).

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I can’t imagine wearing nails of this shape and length on a regular basis, but they made perfect ghosts.

  3. April Brooks says:

    These are outstanding! Even my boyfriend said “Those are good!”.

  4. Lucy says:

    These are just adorable ghost. Seems like I could even do this!

  5. Zara says:

    Haha, very cute! Oval nails are the perfect shape for this.

  6. Sarah says:

    So cute! wickedglaze.blogspot.com has some really cute ideas too. I’ve used a couple already hee hee!

  7. lorena says:

    I Luv those nails

  8. Pingback: nail designs

Leave a Reply

