Secret Peri-Winkle + Yell-Oh!

This polish would probably be Miss Piggy’s favorite- it’s almost a perfect Kermit The Frog green.

I used Color Club Yell-Oh! (guess what color it is!) and China Glaze Secret Peri-Winkle. I don’t know why the name is hyphenated like that- I think I missed the joke, if there is one. Both are cremes and fun colors on their own, though Yell-Oh! is streaky, like almost all neon yellows. It’s better than the Essie neon yellow, though. That was the Queen of Streaks.

Here’s the result when I mixed half of each:

The color is  actually not quite this neon in real life, but the camera tends to be funny with these bright neon shades. It’s a little more muted. If you added some white and a pinch of black, it might look like OPI Damone Roberts 1968 (?). But since this is half and half month, that will have to come later!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Secret Peri-Winkle + Yell-Oh!

  1. Rebecca says:

    How much do you need to paint your nails? I know you can’t really measure it… can you show a photo maybe so we can get an idea of the amount you made?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Good idea! I’ll take a photo of it next time- I didn’t think to do that for some reason! I use about a quarter-sized puddle of each color, but I think it will be easier to tell the exact amount with a photo.

  2. Deniz says:

    Gorgeous color!
    I think China Glaze is called Secret Peri-Wink-Le, because the collection was agent themed, and maybe hyphenating should represent walking discreetly like a spy. This is what I always thought about the name! Whatcha think?

  3. Zara says:

    If there was a joke, I missed it too… but I love your franken, though, it looks great!

  4. amanda says:

    it’s a play on secret wink ;)

  5. Lucy says:

    Love that green! I too would love a picture of your measurements and items used.

  6. Zippy says:

    I’ve been checking out this site for awhile now and I just wanted to say that you make spectacular frankenpolishes!! They’re beautiful and a ton of inspiration. You’re pictures are also great as well- what kind of camera do you have?

    Thanks!

  7. Christine says:

    I love your frankenpolishes!~
    The colors always turn out gorgeous. * U*

    How many coats do you usually apply?
    For my current mani, I used a black base coat, painted on a little bit of gold decal, and then a clear top coat.
    But for some reason, it’s still a little squishy, even the next day. I can easily make a mark on it with my fingernail. It’s like this every time. DX

    Am I using too many coats? I tried making my black base thiner, but it’s still the same, and it’s so thin it’s a little streaky.

    And long do you let your nails dry between coats? Maybe that’s the problem. XD

  8. Rebecca says:

    Can you make a franken that looks like China Glaze Orange Marmalade?

  9. Michelle says:

    Hi, I’m going to be going into Nail Deco very very soon. My question is this, What exactly kind of Tools, supplies, chemicals should I use for it? What kind of glue should I use to glue said 3D decorations onto the nail? What kind of glue should I use to apply to the fake nail to put on my natural real nail to keep it on for say 2 weeks? How do I apply the decorations without messing up the Polish base? What kind of fake nails should i buy? What kind of Topcoat should i use as well???

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Michelle,
      Cyanoacrylate glue is the strongest hold- it’s like Crazy Glue and comes in a liquid form usually. it can be used to apply artificial nails and also to apply nail art. To apply decorations, you should wait until the polish is dry and then stick them on. You can find blank nails on Ebay as well as at beauty supply stores like Sally’s Beauty Supply. Topcoat- I love Seche Vite but if the nails are really decorated, then a layer of clear UV gel hardened under a lamp is more solid. Most important is creativity! Have fun and good luck!

Leave a Reply

