Wild Grape-Steria

Here’s my first half-and-half franken for you! Both the colors are winners on their own, but they are also fabulous combined.

The first color is Orly Wild Wisteria, a deep true purple creme. It’s not so dark it looks black on the nail- it is a distinct purple, but it’s a rather deep shade. Applies well, too. But this color reminds me of concord grapes in fall, and I wanted a little more summery feeling. I’m not quite ready for autumn just yet! It is my favorite season, but I still haven’t done enough summer stuff yet.

Enter Color #2: China Glaze Grape Juice. This was from the Summer Daze collection- a glass-flecked lavender. I liked that collection, but I found that this color was too light for my personal taste.

L to R:  Orly Wild Wisteria, China Glaze Grape Juice

I mixed half of each of these colors together in my silicone baking cup and got:

It is also possible to layer the Grape Juice on top of the Wild Wisteria, but unless you’re pretty steady, it can be streaky. If it’s layered, the color underneath will be obscured by the glass flecks. By mixing them together, it allows a more uniform, shimmering look where neither color overwhelms the other.

Oh, and a couple other things: Frankenpolishes dry fast, especially in summer. Be ready to go right after you mix the colors up. They don’t sit long. If your frankens dry too fast, you pour the polish into a bottle and mix them that way. I rarely mix anything in a bottle since I make so many colors, but it may be easier for some others to manage.  I usually just make enough for one manicure because there’s always a new color I want to try!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wild Grape-Steria

  1. Rebecca says:

    Pretty!!!

  2. amusedPolish says:

    I love this franken, I have to buy grape juice ^^

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Grape Juice is worth getting- it’s a fun shade. You could also substitute another light-colored glass fleck polish for it in this franken.

  3. Lucy says:

    That’s a grorgeous shade. Thanks for all the hints. I know I have the Orly. Will have to check on the other.

  4. Zara says:

    So pretty! I might get these polishes just to mix them; they look gorgeous together!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Wild Wisteria is a knockout.- one of my favorite purples. Grape Juice is worth getting too, but WW is not easily duplicated and looks great mixed with white for an old-fashioned lavender too.

  5. Jackie S. says:

    This is a hot mix!

Leave a Reply

