Deco Mania

I’m not sure how far this wacky trend has spread, but the Japanese like sticking decorations on pretty much everything: mirrors, compacts, pens, mobile phones, computers, tissue boxes and nails. I’m not exactly sure how or when this started, but it’s everywhere.  There is only one rule: It must be adorable.  Whether that means a giant Hello Kitty head bedazzled in rhinestones, fake macaroons or a plastic Minnie Mouse doesn’t matter. And if one is good, 10 must be better.

Store your tissues in style! This thing must weigh a ton. Image from Deco Sweets Yuuki.

Above: Mobile phone straps shaped like cakes. Note the cake on the upper right hand corner: it has a slice of cake. On top of the cake. And if that wasn’t enough, it has a teddy bear (teddy bears are popular for increasing the cuteness factor.) AND..we’re not done yet. It has an ice cream cone on it too. So, folks, if you actually ate a cake like this, it would kill you. The cake on the lower right has some half-eaten candy bars on top. Image from DecoFukubukuro.

These nails are from the Fantemille Salon, Tokyo- not my creation.  I think I’ve posted this before but these nails always crack me up, because they have what looks like a sugar-dusted pancreas on the middle finger. That and the random churro strike me as hilarious. These nails have a complete meal- waffle, hotcake, cookies, banana, shortcake, donuts, lemon, a pancreas, another donut, a macaroon, a kiwi, a pudding, a crueller, and….oh, heck. This is a bakery on your fingertips!

So, after being surrounded by this stuff, I’ve gone to the DecoDarkSide. It just seeped into my subconcious. Believe it or not, I am not generally a cute frou-frou person despite some of the nails I make! I always walked past the fake candy, plastic puddings, and pseudo poundcakes. But, then, fruits started finding their way onto my nails…then candy…and then the final frontier: Whipped cream. Silicone whipped cream. That was always the frothy, adorable line that I wouldn’t cross. Until now!

Yes, I made nails that are supposed to look like the inside of crepes, including the whipped cream puffs.  I had to put them away since I wanted to pick the whipped cream off- it’s squooshy and has a curiously addictive texture.  Pretty soon everything in my house is going to be covered in this stuff!

There is one small hope- these are for sale in my Etsy shop, not for my personal use. I hope someone will have tons of fun with them and not pick off all the whipped cream bits as I would do if I wore them. I think I’ll include extra cream bits just in case. See? Who says manicures can’t be entertaining?

And, in the slightly more wearable department, I was putting my franken skills to work over the weekend to make a true Tiffany blue. From there, this was born:

The blue is really dead-on Tiffany blue. The photo is  a little dark  so it’s not that easy to tell but it’s accurate. I used Color Club Orly Blue Collar, white, and a dusty no-name Japanese green. It took about 5 tries to get it perfect, but I’m happy with the result. I will do my best not to add silicone whipped cream or tiny fruits to these. (The bow is acrylic, not silicone- but can you tell I had whipped cream on my mind?)

What do you think of the deco trend? Would you ever try it?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Japanese Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Deco Mania

  1. Rebecca says:

    Your crepe nails are so adorable!!! I love the detailing on them, I want to eat them!!! I’d never wear them though, I can’t stand any sort of decal/raised texture on my nails (it always get caught in my hair). Your Tiffany’s set is very tempting though… I’d probably wear them without the cute little ring you added on. The themes are nicely thought out!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks- I’m gld you liked them! They make me hungry too. These are definitely party nails- I cannot imagine wearing them day in and day out- though a lot of Japanese girls do!

  2. Doo says:

    I’m seriously contemplating on decorating my cell phone with rhinestones and beads and all… It’s polished already and some stickers attatched, but I feel ready for 3D decos now..

    Having said that, the Tiffany nails on the bottom of your post look the most beautiful to me. So serene, a dead-on shade!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Go ahead and bedazzle that thing- you know you want to!! I’m glad you liked the Tiffany nails. :)

  3. Alice says:

    OMG :) I very yummy… I think I’ll bite them!

  4. Deniz says:

    whoa, let your creative juices flow girl! you rock with those crepe-nails, and that tiffany blue looks really dead-on. I love the tiny ring detail! I guess every kind of charm is available in Japan.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Deniz!
      Yes, there is every kind of charm- including some really weird ones! It’s popular to make your own beaded charms but some of the patterns are crazy. I saw a tiny packed of beaded cigarettes a few days ago…strange….

      • Deniz says:

        as if cigarettes are something cute =D weird, indeed! =D

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Oh, yes..in Japan, cigarettes are made as cute as possible. There are candy cigarettes for the kids, and lots of promotional items you can get if you buy cigarettes, including plush camels, jeweled lighters, portable ashtrays shaped like hearts, etc. In the US, this kind of promotion is mostly against the law, I think, but in Japan, there are a lot of smokers. Cigarettes (even those imported from the US!) are only about $3 US a pack here- one of the few things that’s cheaper in Japan. I don’t smoke, though. I considered bringing back cigarettes for people I know in the US, but cancer sticks seem like a bad gift.

  5. Where did you get that teeny tiny ring for your Tiffany nails – how cute is that??!!

    You know I love those wild nails – I would be hungry all day if I wore those. They make those little foods look so good.

    Viva la churro!!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Brooke, I’m going to send you a churro for your very own! But they kind of remind me of a liittle messy something that Dinky or Bananas might leave behind sometimes…;)

      The charm came from a craft store here- they have everything! I must have been in an altered state when I picked up that tube of strawbery whipped cream. I can only pleasd temporary insanity….;)

      I hope you’re back rolling around town and that those thieves get an anvil dropped on their heads.

  6. Shayla says:

    While none of these are something I’d wear/buy, there is something morbidly fascinating about them, especially your crepe nails!

    Beautiful Tiffany blue, btw :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Shayla! Glad you can appreciate them as art, if not as something you’d ever wear. ;) I actually don’t get a chance to rock those crazy nails regularly and I haven’t put anything dessert-like on my nails yet, but I have a ball making them.

  7. Wazzra says:

    Are you gonna put the Tiffany ones in your shop?

  8. amusedPolish says:

    wow, I love the two set of nails you did- I’m getting hungry :D

    there are quite a few odd things I’ve seen at japanese online-stores… i think there are even little diy-kits for making your own pie/cake

  9. Jin says:

    I love the crepes and Tiffany nails you created! They look so yummy and pretty. Too bad the materials are not so readily available here or else I’ll definitely go deco crazy hehe.

  10. Jackie S. says:

    Its all creative and cute! Love the Tiffany manicure!

  11. amanda c. says:

    I think in a former life I must have been Japanese because putting tiny fake sweets on stuff makes all kinds of sense to me. (Don’t ask me what kind of sense, though, because I would have to suspiciously change the subject, seeing as it doesn’t actually make sense.) Further evidence of my twisted nature: I would totally have that cell phone charm that’s a pink cupcake with pink stars and hearts if my phone had a place for cell phone charms. Although I’m not particularly fond of teddy bears… but have you seen those plushy Japanese seals called mamegomas? I have about 20 gazillion mamegomas.

    I don’t think I’m making a point anymore, so I’ll change gears. I looove those Tiffany nails. I want to wear them even though the only people further away from getting engaged than I am are nuns… if the nuns in question went to Mars.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, yes, I know those mamegomas! Putting decorative sweets on stuff makes no sense for anyone, but yet it’s still so totally alluring. I paid over 5 stinking dollars for one crummy plastic nozzle so I could make even tinier whipped cream floofalas. (I have no idea what those clumps of whipped cream are acutally called.)

      Hmm, speaking of making no sense, I don’t know why those Tiffany nails sprung into creation because that stuff is pretty far out of my mind. I just saw the cute little ring charms and blindly purchased them for “someday.” I could always make you a “Love Stinks” manicure if you need one. :)

  12. Lucy says:

    Bakery sweets overload. I admire the art and think they’re adorable. Nothing I’d ever wear since I’d knock something off. The Tiffany nails are so divine! Even an engagement ring! Very clever and so pretty. You constantly amaze me with your skills.

  13. Violet says:

    I absolutely adore deco like this (as well as less crazy deco) the crepe nails are adorable. Haha the deco love has spread to here in Australia ^_^

  14. Lauren says:

    LOVE it! I heard Tiffany blue was actually trademarked? Ive been looking for a great tiffany look-a-like so Im glad you posted this.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m not surprised to hear that! It’s actually a little trickier than it looks- I haven’t seen a commercial polish that’s a dead-on duplicat, probably due to the trademark issue!

Leave a Reply

