Evil Eye Nail Art

I’ve been trying to push the limits of weird nail art by getting into acrylic recently. I don’t recommend it because it stinks to high heaven and can be very frustrating, but it allows for some really funky 3-D stuff that’s not possible otherwise.  But…the smell. That stuff absolutely cannot be good for you.

So, I present…The Evil Eye! It’s not actually an evil eye that shoots out bad vibes, it’s supposed to ward off other people’s evil eye towards you. Maybe it was a mis-translation. I see them in often in Turkish restaurants and was inspired to make my own manicure version. I guess it shouldn’t technically have glitter in it, but glitter seems to sneak into everything somehow…

The base blue is a very old OPI that I actually forgot the name of..I think it’s from that Canadian collection from ages back. It was really sheer- not sure if that’s due to the advanced age of the polish or not.

This is acrylic art on a plastic base.

Acrylic is a great tool for 3-D sculpture,  but whole acrylic nails can be very damaging due to the amount of filing the salon does before applying the nails.  Be extremely careful of any salon that uses an electric drill or sander on the nails. It’s easy to over-file with those and it can leave natural nails very thin and weak.  Hand-filing allows much better control but takes longer.

Here’s a little factiod for you:

Acrylic is made of a liquid (monomer)  and a powder that combine to form a hard substance.  There is a kind of liquid called MMA that should only be used in dental work because it makes the acrylic so hard. If it’s used on artificial nails and the nail gets slammed or traumatized, it will take off your natural nail with it. That’s why it’s against the law to use MMA monomer in nail applications in most US states.  It’s great for teeth but too hard for nails. But, in the interest of cutting costs, some salons do use it because it’s way cheaper than the legal stuff.  It has a sweet, kind of sharp smell.  Who knew the world of nail art was so dangerous?

Moral of the story: Stay away from el-cheapo acrylics.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Evil Eye Nail Art

  1. Deniz says:

    Great job! Being Turkish, seeing the Evil Eye around makes me happy =D Now I’m inspired!

  2. Jin says:

    I’ve heard about the al cheapo acrylic before my friend told me a lot of nail salons use them however, the customers are not aware of the difference. They always go back because the price is so cheap. I use acrylics for 3D art very often. The smell is really bad. That’s why I’ve switched to using 3D gels.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, unless you’re really familiar with acrylic odor, it’s not always easy to tell which is the banned stuff. It’s illegal to use in nails for good reason, but a lot of salons use it anyway. At least gels don’t smell bad and cause fingernails to be ripped off.

  3. Serikiyo says:

    Looks just like it! It always reminds me of Christmas; my mom has two ornaments like these from Greece. One is in the shape of a heart, the other is a hand.
    You captured it perfectly. :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That’s a pretty funky Christmas ornament! Do you think the Eye can ward off fruitcakes? If so, I’m getting one for myself!

  4. Lucy says:

    Have never used any acrylics. I’ve smelled it and it’s bad! Love the manicure. I first saw the evil eye on jewelry at a Greek festival. I own some earrings and a bracelet.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, stay away from the acrylics. If you’re going for artificial nails, gels don’t smell as bad and the natural nails don’t have to be filed so severely.

      I have an evil eye necklace too, but I got it on Etsy. I’d love to go to Turkey or Greece and get one from there!

Leave a Reply

