Absolutely Alice Amped Up

I’m pretty late with this one, but I just swatched Absolutely Alice from the Alice in Wonderland collection. It’s the blue glitter interspersed with gold. Pretty, but it just seemed too….light? Not saturated enough? I was hoping for a gooey blue jelly with gold and blue glitter, but it took four coats to get rid of all the bald spots and dried paler than I thought it would. It’s a lovely color, despite the application, but..I don’t know. I expected a more juicy color.

So, I did what I always do when I’m disappointed: add glitter! I chose a shade of glitter that was similar to Alice, but more bold- the rather unoriginally named MAC Blue Glitter. Kapow! The result was opaque in two coats, with that extra boldness that brought the color to a more rich, metallic shade.

This is a pea-sized amount of glitter added to a quarter size dollop of Absolutely Alice. Start small when adding glitter and mix, check the color and consistency, and then add more if needed.

Not my real nails, since I don’t want to deal with removing the glittah at 10:45PM.  I don’t think I can get away with nails the color of a K-Mart Blue Light special on my fingertips at work.

I think this should have had a bluer base for more opacity. I do love the color, but it needs a little extra something. I actually poured the blue MAC glitter into my bottle of polish, which is something I rarely do. But I liked the amped up version better, so I figured I’d franken the whole bottle this time.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Absolutely Alice Amped Up

  1. Rebecca says:

    I love your version! I’m a fan of AA but I hate having to put so many coats on :S

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, it needs more GLITTER! :) The cure for most all problems, at least i the nail polish world!

  2. This came out about the same time as Dorothy Who? and in my opinion, Dorothy Who? wins hands down. AA was prone to chipping easily (within 2 days) if I used a fast drying top coat. It lasted that one extra day when I used Poshe, but with seche Vite I barely able to make it to 24 hours before it chipped.

    In this round it’s China Glaze who won. I either love or hate OPI and I was utterly disappointed with AA.

    -Carinae-
    http://www.carinaeletoile.com
    Win a bottle of Damone Roberts 1968 + other colors in my contest!

  3. Lucy says:

    Your version looks much more beautiful than the original. I was expecting much more from the whole collection. I only ordered a few of them.

  4. prissy says:

    nice, i think this is better than absolutely alice !

  5. I recently got a pedicure at some place and the lady used a coat of OPI’s “Yoga-ta Get This Blue” and then used Absolutely Alice as a sparkly coat on top, and that looks quite nice, though much darker.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, that’s a good idea! I think the base should have been a little more opaque for better coverage. But I’m sure it also looked great as a topcoat.

Leave a Reply

