TiNS Part 2

Not quite as much of a pic spam as last time, but here’s a few TiNS goodies swatched on tips for reasons you can see below:

TiNS: The Ocean. This is three coats of a nice cornflower blue with really dense glitter. This polish was pretty thick, due in part to all the glitter in it and because of age, so the application was a little tricky. I’m a sucker for cornflower blues though!

TiNS The Perfect Prince. Teal and silver glitters in a teal base. Three coats but I could have used two, plus one coat of Seche. I haven’t seen another polish like this, and it dried surprisingly smooth.

TiNS The Fancy Iceberg. What? As opposed to the Plain Old Iceberg? Is it referring to lettuce or that thing that sunk the Titanic? It was from a collection of milky pastels and this actually looked like a light mint green in the bottle.  There was a milky white in the collection as well that I don’t have. This is 6 coats. My nails are hiding in the photo because they’re afraid to get a 7th coat.  They’re trying to use camoflauge to blend in with my sponge so the cruel torture will end.  You don’t see too many companies doing these kind of milky pastels, mostly because the application is ridiculous. I’d actally probably do 6 coats if I really, really loved a color and had something to do while waiting for it to dry, but I’m not a huge fan of the starker, lighter shades since my skin is already pale.

Aah, that’s better.  Some argyle has eased their fear of another coat of the Fancy Iceberg.

The Night and The Music. Celery green with a silvery duochrome. Nice, but not my favorite type of color. But it’s a great base for a tiny green and black cobra (incidentally, this cobra is my mom’s favorite). I usually like to give him a tiny red rhinestone eye, but this is just a swatch mani, so I’m going to be lazy. Would it be weird to paint a rat on my pinkie?

Whew. I still have a few more TiNS laying around which I will swatch later. My polish collection is sorted by color rather than brands, so I have to sift through everything to find a specific brand. But artistically, it’s better to sort by color.

I have a secret: My nails have been utterly void of polish for two weeks straight. Gasp! I’ve been doing a lot of nail art for my shop and it is tough on the hands- cleaning utensils and brushes, filing, etc. It’s really taken a toll on my cuticles and nails, none of which are the same length at the moment. Yes, it’s rather shocking for a color and glitter addict, but if I put polish on, it’s just going to get messed up.  That, and I’ve got some nasty little cuts and nicks that really hurt when nail polish remover get in them.  So, I’m on a strict regimen of cuticle oil, Nail Envy and biotin until things look a little better, and then I’m going to get some colored Calgel.  I’ve also got that breathable tape that nailists use to protect their manicures while working, but I don’t like wearing it since it’s uncomfortable and bulky. I think I just need to get used to it.

Oh, and for the person who was wondering about the TiNS planet series: Yes, there is a The Uranus. It’s a silver glitter.  I almost got it for the name alone, but I have a large box o’ silver glitters rattling around already.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TiNS Part 2

  1. lilynail says:

    i love this brand :) when i come in tokyo i buy a few but now after see all your swatch i think i need to buy a lot of them !!!

  2. Ruthless says:

    I LOVE THE FANCY ICEBERG. I love all of these polishes.

    BTW OPI is being pulled from etail websites so if you want to put in an order since it’s expensive in Japan I’d do it now

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the heads up! It has lead me to do a mini OPI stockpile.

      As for the Fancy Iceberg, I’m happy to paint it onto some nails and send them your way if you like as a little gift, since I know the nails in my shop fit you. Actually, I can of course do any of the colors I swatched here.

  3. Jackie S. says:

    The Blue Tins are gorgeous!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      They do blue especially well. I’m not sure it looks good on me, but I like wearing them. I’m glad you liked it1

  4. GerryBerry says:

    man i see TiNS all the time in Japanese Nail Mags and they look gorgeous…i wish ppl living outside of Japan could get access to them.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I think a large part of the price- they retail for $15 in Japan and it’s even worse to send them abroad. That, and the names might need a little tweaking- some of them are downright hilarious.

  5. Droooooooool! I even like that milky white one – 6 coats and all!

  6. adriana says:

    i loved all!

  7. adriana says:

    amazing… i will try it all!

Leave a Reply

