Namboku Line- Tokyo Metro Collection

If you guys remember, I was mixing up a collection of colors based on the Tokyo Metro Subway lines.  There are two more colors left, and I’m going to do them both today! I had a fun time doing these, but they were mostly all cremes and I have been severely glitter deprived!

Here we have the Namboku Line. The name means “north-south” and it’s a medium  teal green.  I made this by mixing 1/2 Essie Mesmerize, a creme blue, and 1/4 of China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway, a dark cornflower blue and  1/4 Color Club Yell-OH!, a neon yellow (surprise, surprise.)  I origially left out the darker blue and just mixed the Mesmerize and Yell-OH, but the result was too bright green, rather than teal. 

The end result leaned a hair bluer than the Namboku line, but I really liked the color. This is three thin coats with a rather hasty application of Seche on top.  Greens make my ghostly white hands look red, especially in photos, but I still plan on wearing this one again!

One more left in the Tokyo Metro collection, which I’ll be showing you tomorrow.

Thanks also to all of you who liked my Scream nails! I have another few teeny Fine Art nails planned because those Screams were so much fun! I bought a tiny paintbrush with a rubbery grip on it this weekend that’s especially for nail art. The one I used for the Scream was small, but not really designed for that close-up work- it was just a regular dollar-store paintbrush.  I’m hoping my next set of Art Nails will be even better! I may even paint a teeny, tiny frame around it if I’m feeling particularly inspired.  And…it gives me an excuse to buy more polish, right?  Now it’s not just a manicure, it’s Art!  I’ll have to start drinking wine and nibbling cheese when I paint, with some classical jazz in the background.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Namboku Line- Tokyo Metro Collection

  1. nihrida says:

    Love this color! Great job

  2. Deez says:

    I enjoyed this franken series I think it is really neat that you used the subway line colours as an inspiration. i am also feeling ‘glitter deprived’ as I have been making and wearing alot of cremes.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Deez- glad you liked it! I had a lot of fun with it, but I think we need some shots of glitter all around!

  3. Jessi says:

    I really loved this series, you should do more like it (if you feel like it)! Now you need to do redo this theme, except with glitter polishes! Just kidding… :) Oh, could you maybe do a follow up post where you put all the franken pictures together? Or would that be too picture heavy? Or at least tag them with the phrase “Tokyo Metro Collection” so they would be easier to find. Just an idea, keep up the good work!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! I really should tag my photos- it’ll be a great rainy day project. Entering “Metro” in the search function should bring back all the entries, but the photo tagging would be much more streamlined. Thanks for a great idea!

      Oh, and there will be glitter. Oh, yes. I have tons to show you in the upcoming weeks!

  4. Lucy says:

    Lovely shade you made. I’ve missed seeing all your frankens. I’ll be catching up on all you’ve posted.

Leave a Reply

