Oedo Line Fuschia

The Oedo (oh-eh-dough) Line is one I use regularly and it’s one of the newer ones in Tokyo, so it’s really far underground. In some places, it’s 7 stories below. The escalators are massive. From the subway platform to the street level, it takes about 10 minutes at some stations. I really hope I’m not riding on it during an earthquake.

This line runs through Shinjuku, a big shopping area, and to Roppongi, the nightlife district. I hardly ever go to Roppongi, but it’s probably one of the sleazier parts of Tokyo. It’s not dangerous to walk around, but you will probably meet a lot of overly friendly girls. It’s a mix of strip joints, plastic surgery clinics, bars, lonely rich expats, and girls who are experts at removing money from men. It has its sleazy charms, but I’m neither a rich expat nor a woman who wants to vaccuum money out of one, so it’s not all that appealling.

The Oedo Line is a fuschia color, right where pink and purple overlap.

All the photos that I took ended up looking much more blue than the real purple, so I had to use the flash and lighten the photo a bit.

This was made with 1/2 China Glaze Vermillion, a red creme, 1/4 Misa Pour Me Something Tall and Strong, a blue creme, and 1/4 Color Club Screamin’ Fuschia, a…well, the name says it all, though it’s more pinkish than true fuschia.  It was very streaky. I was in a hurry as usual, so my application wasn’t fabulous, but the colors didn’t play together all that nicely. I had the heater in my apartment on, so the hot and dry air may have affected the application.

 

But it’s kind of a fun color that suits the time between winter and spring- not too pastel, but not too wintry.  I’m going to try this one again when I have a little more time and I’m not sitting in front of the heater!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oedo Line Fuschia

  1. Aunt Lizzie says:

    this is my favorite

  2. Kitty says:

    Ah, I love this theme! My computer was down for about a week, but now that I’m back online I get to see a whole bunch of new posts at once! Ueno Line, Hanzomon Line and Chiyoda Line, I love those =) Not only do I like seeing your frankens, I’m having fun reading about the different subway lines. Educational nail polish =D

  3. Rebecca says:

    This looks really nice on you!

  4. Jackie S. says:

    Beautiful color!

Leave a Reply

