Yurakucho Line Yellow

The Yurakucho Line is sort of a revolting off-yellow that reminds me of ’70s appliances. The connecting line, the Yurakucho New Line, is also a kind of groovy ’70s earthtone.

I use this line sometimes when my regular line is stopped for some reason (usually it’s because someone jumped in front of the train).  It takes me a couple kilometers from my house and will do in a pinch. For some reason, the station wasn’t built properly, or there was some engineering error, so when the trains go through, it’s literally like a wind tunnel, even several stories above the tracks.  My hair blows straight up and any loose papers you have will be gone for good. Sort of like a mini-tornado.

So, here’s the color. It looks as bad on  my nails as it does on the map! Mustardy yellow is a tricky color for anyone, but it clashes with my zombie-pale skin especially.

This was made with OPI The It Color, a brighter mustard yellow, and one drop each of creme red (OPI Thrill of Brazil, since it was  handy from a recent franken), and two drop of greenish-gray that I mixed seperately and added  (think of the Statue of Liberty color, made with black, white, yellow and blue).  This color reminds me a little of OPI And Apple Pie, but is much more yellow-toned. These caramel/mustardy colors are hard to pull off, which is why I think we rarely see them on the market.

My middle finger is censored because it has a piece of cotton fluff stuck to it. I was working at the same table I do nail art on, and a stray piece of cotton pad jumped straight onto my wet nail. Trying to pick it off left things even more messed up.

In other news, today is the first sunny day we’ve had in ages. It’s been damp and rainy/snowy for the last 10 days of so. It actually did snow on Tuesday in Tokyo, which is a pretty unusual occurence. It didn’t stick, but it was still damp and cold, my least favorite weather combination.

Oh, and my nail art is featured on the front page of Sharpie Uncapped! Many of you have probably seen this design already, but Sharpie asked me if they could feature it on their gallery of permanent marker-related art.  There is some amazing artwork on there, so check it out.  I expect to be doing a couple more Sharpie manis soon too.

http://www.sharpieuncapped.com/default.aspx

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Yellows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yurakucho Line Yellow

  1. Jin says:

    Not an easy to wear colour but it does resembles the Yurakucho line colour. Your censored nail image is way too funny hehe. Great way to hide the imperfection!

Leave a Reply

