Ginza Orange

The Ginza Line is one of the oldest in Tokyo and is pretty close to the surface, which is a reasuuring idea in the event of an earthquake. It’s also one of the most crowded lines in Tokyo. I ride it daily, and it’s Sardine City.  At rush hour, station attendants with white gloves shove people into the cars so the doors can close. You can’t move your arms or feet. Hideous. But it will take you from the odd youth-fashion center of Shibuya, through Ginza (designer shopping area with crazy prices) all the way to Ueno, the raffish and downmarket old town, which is of my favorite places in Tokyo.

One of my first experiences on the Ginza Line was my first day of work in a real grown-up office. It was summer, and I had a very full face of makeup on- foundation and all. The subway was so crowded that my face got smooshed into the back of a man’s jacket for the duration of the ride. When he got off the train, he had a perfect impression of my face on his jacket. The impression sort of  looked like a very glamorous Jason hockey mask, with lipstick and blush. I tried to give him my name, or a contact, but I couldn’t move, the doors closed, and he was gone. Sorry, Suit Guy. I really am.  After that debacle, I put my makeup on at work.

Ginza is sort of a pumpkin-y orange yellow.

This was made with 2/3 OPI Need Sunglasses? (medium yellow creme) and 2/3 OPI Monsooner or Later (poppy red). That yielded a brillant orange which was acutally a prettier color, but not Ginza Line orange. I then added twice as much white to my orange to get this lighter orangey shade. You can add the white drop by drop until you get the color you want, but this one required a lot of white, so I decided to pour it in.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ginza Orange

  1. Aunt Lizzie says:

    Kinda looks like a cream cycle

  2. Rebecca says:

    I LOVE this!!!

  3. Hana says:

    HAHAHAHA your story of your makeup imprinted on the poor guy’s back made me LOL XD

    That said, this is a very lovely shade of orange <3 so spring like :D

  4. Love the story! Love the polish!
    ~Sylvia

  5. Jin says:

    That’s a nice orange! You should also show us the brillant orange you mentioned! I really like your Ginza Line subway story hehe. I remembered being squashed like sardines while being stuck in Tokyo’s morning traffic!

  6. GerryBerry says:

    Ooh, that creamy shade of orange looks yummy lol ^.^
    Love it!

Leave a Reply

