Hibiya Gray

The first color in my themed Tokyo Metro Collection is…Hibiya Gray! That’s pronounced (hee-bee-ya, by the way).  It’s a medium slightly warm gray as represented on the subway map. This line goes to Akihabara, a famous electronics district where you can buy all kinds of gadgets. I believe it is also the only site of a modern mass murder in Tokyo, where a deranged individual drove a truck into a crowd of pedestrians and then started stabbing them- I think it was last year. That sort of dampened my enjoyment of Akihabara…but…uh, anyway. Check it out if you like electronics.

This was easy to do- 1 drop of black creme to  9 drops white creme. Bingo! Some blacks will produce a warm gray (like this) and others will produce a cooler gray. It all depends on what pigments make up the black, which varies from brand to brand.

I like the look of a gray nail polish, but it’s so easy to make it seems a shame to buy because it’s so easy to make. Pour out your white first and then start adding drops of black- it turns dark in a hurry, so be careful. Mix thoroughly until you have the shade you want. This one is not particularly flattering to my skintone. I think a darker one would be a little better.

I think Nubar recently produced a collection (Fortress?) with a lot of gray cremes in it. I love Nubar, but I wonder if this will be a big seller. I’m going to pass on that part of the collections and mix my own.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hibiya Gray

  1. Rebecca says:

    Grey actually suits your skin tone quite nicely. On my hands, it looks sickly :(

  2. Annabelle says:

    I have a love affair with grays. =]

Leave a Reply

