Purple Butterfly

I’ve been doing a little wear-testing on some of my art nails to see how long they last and under what conditions.  So far, so good! The butterflies are made of a clay cane which can be sliced with a razor blade. The purple on the base was made with Fyrinnae pigment and silver holo glitter,  and the tips are a mix of  2/3  China Glaze Red Curl Girl and 1/3 China Glaze Frostbite, a medium blue shimmer.

So far, the butterflies are clinging on tenaciously but we’ll see how they do over the next couple days. If you’re cutting the 3-D clay canes, make sure you have a VERY sharp blade and a plenty of patience. You can warm the clay up in a cup of hot water for easier cutting, but it can warp the cane, so it’s best to cut the whole cane at the same time if you pre-warm it.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Purple Butterfly

  1. impyroghea says:

    Love these! Purple, butterflies, and glitter are my three favorite things to see on nails.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Me too! The only thing that was missing was some rhinestones, but I tried to keep this one a little toned down…er, by my standards, I mean.

  2. venaxcava says:

    Wow! These are gorgeous! I am a sucker for a pretty purple nail polish, and the butterflies are too cute! ^_^

  3. Danitza Zarate says:

    It is a beautiful design :) I’ll try it .. I just have one question, with what did u stick the butterflies? Normal glue nail? gel and UV lamp? I have used the cold gel but it never lasts :(
    Thanks for your help anyway and for posting these photos!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I just stick the butterflies on wet nails and then seal them with a topcoat. Or you can use nail glue which is a bit stronger.

  4. Arie says:

    I love this ones!! they are so pretty!

  5. cescils says:

    looks like fairy nails :) . it’s beautiful !

  6. dailyvarnish says:

    two of my favorite things…. purple nail polish and butterflies. I wish I could be as creative :)

Leave a Reply

