Valentine’s Conversation Hearts

I wanted to show a really simple Valentine’s nail art look for all you procrastinators out there! This one was inspired by those awful-tasting Conversation hearts- you know, the pastel ones seemingly made of chalk that has Valentine-y phrases on them like, “Call Me,” or “Get Lost.”  They’re the texture of drywall and have an odd taste, but they endure year after year. So here it is:

I know these colors are a little darker than real conversation hearts, but I like bolder colors. I actually mixed these colors myself, but if you’re doing this at home,  just pick a few pastel shades that you like. If you don’t have pastels, you can add a little white polish to darker shades and get pastels.  Use a silicone baking cup or artist palette and drip a few drops of color into a little puddle of white polish. Then mix and apply! Use a cheapo white- any brand will do- and use the brush from the white polish to mix the shades. Wipe with a paper towel or lint-free towel between colors.  Just like mixing tempera paint when you were a kid! Just don’t contaminate your original  darker shades.

I then used a nail-art marker to write the conversation words, but you can use a Sharpie. I know some purists will gasp at this, but for a single day manicure it’s OK if you use a good base coat. They can stain nails, but so can nail polish.  Just for a few hours should be fine if used sparingly.

These nails are matte, just like conversation hearts. I used a mattifying topcoat (Essie Matte About You) but there are many different ones on the market and they are all basically the same. Essie is probably the most expensive but not particularly better than any of the others.

I stuck on a couple teeny hearts on the pinkie and index finger just to break up the look a little bit, plus I’ve been wanting to use those hearts and today is a good excuse! :)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art, Pastel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Valentine’s Conversation Hearts

  1. Rebecca says:

    You’re so right, those hearts taste as pasty as they look. This is really fun, less-pink-and-girly- valentines mani… perfect!

  2. arkanefyre says:

    Those are so ridiculously adorable, appropriate to the occasion and totally unique! I love it! Thanks for choosing my mani for me! <3

  3. Lucy says:

    I love this manicure. Looks just like the candy. I also like those conversation hearts. I don’t mind the chalky taste. My favorite is the orange. Guess it’s because it reminds me Of St Joseph Aspirin for children. I loved those things and my Mother had to hide them from me. I forgot all about doing my nails for Valentine’s Day. I have them painted with a gold glitter from China Glaze. From the last collection of glitters. I can’t remember what the shade was. I figured it was for the gold medals of the Olympics.

  4. Sky says:

    A little late to the party here, but I have to say that is the coolest Valentine mani I’ve seen out of all the polish blogs.

Leave a Reply

