Finally Sold All Them Nails

I have some good news! I  finally sold all the nails I made for the rather ill-fated Design Festa back in October in my Etsy shop.  I was painting, mixing, decorating and glittering for months beforehand, but my sales were rather disappointing, to put it mildly, so that inspired me to put more time and effort into Etsy.  It was either that or change my nails every hour for the rest of my life.

But the really good news is, the sales are going for a good cause! (And no, it’s not more nail polish for me!) As you guys probably know, I’m an animal lover, but I can’t have a pet because I live overseas, I’m too busy and I travel often.  So I decided to donate 10% of my Etsy profits to various animal-related causes.  This month, I was lucky enough to have a little extra, so I was able to give some more. 

(Just so no-one accuses me of being a people-hater and ignoring human suffering, I did organize charitable contributions for Haiti at my office and will make a substantial donation in several months, after the basic rebuilding begins.  I think the donations will drop off by then, but people will need assistance just as much, albeit in different ways.)

But Etsy profits are targeted for our furry friends. I’ve unilaterally decided that January is Weiner Dog Month. I’m a crazed Dachshund lover, so I donated to three rescue organizations for the breed: Coast to Coast Dachshund  Rescue and Dachsund Rescue of North America and Almost Home. I also support local animal rescue organizations here in Japan.

Oh, and check out this NY Times article about  Rescue Ink, a bunch of rather dangerous-looking motorcycle enthusiasts who also happen to be animal-lovers who specialize in stopping urban animal abuse, especially dogfighting.

I feel very lucky to have enough money left over to donate to causes that mean a lot to me personally.  I know that is not the case with many people right now. But there are a few things I’d like to ask people to do that don’t cost money:

1. If you see an abused animal (including  human beings, for that matter!)  alert your local authorities, Humane Society. Never assume anyone else will.  I’m reminded of a favorite quote, “The only thing required for evil to flourish  is for good men to do nothing.”- Edmund Burke (?)

2.  If you’re thinking of getting a pet, go to your local shelter, breed rescue or Humane Society. Anywhere but a pet store- don’t shop, adopt! You’ll be saving a life for sure.

3. Perhaps this is the most relevant for my fellow varnish-heads: Buy cruelty-free products. There are plenty of wonderful polish brands out there that don’t conduct animal testing. It’s just not necessary in this day and age.  Cruelty is not part of being fabulous! Check out my Cruelty-Free page here. I use PeTA’s Caring Consumer website to help me determine which products are cruelty-free.  Some people disagree with this list, but it is regularly updated and provides at least a starting point to make decisions about what to buy and what not to buy.  I know it’s hard to navigate the miles of products and companies, but every little bit we can do to elimate cruelty helps.

Phew! This post was a bonanza of clicky-links, but I hope you will find some of the information useful.  I’m also open to animal-related charities to donate to, if any of my readers have an organization that they are a part of.  Thanks for reading and I’ll be back with the usual polish-related posts soon!

ETA: Sorry I forgot to say a big “thank you” to everyone who stopped by my store! I got so into the animal stuff that I forgot to offer my sincere thanks for everyone who has offered feedback, purchased nails or even just bookmarked my blog or store. So here’s a great big THANK YOU!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Cruelty-Free/Animal Testing, Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally Sold All Them Nails

  1. I’m cool with that. PETA has a benevolent side, and you seem to take that along with realizing that humans have value. Animals in nature are great, and they should be protected but I do think PETA goes too far.

  2. Kaybee says:

    That is AWESOME and I commend you! Thanks for your care for the animals. Putting money somewhere is really a statement and I admire you for your choice.

  3. Lucy says:

    Wonderful that you sold all your nails. It’s also great that you donate to some fantastic causes.

  4. nicky says:

    This is awesome. I’m happy to hear i’m not the only one taking to time and effort to purchase cruelty-free products. It can be quite a task at times and a lot of discipline believe it or not. Keep up the good work.

  5. That ideas of converting eye shadow into nail polish it is pretty cool. Great idea!!! I would never thought of something like that.

Leave a Reply

