Gradation Liquid Giveaway!

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting- thigns have been crazy busy here and I haven’t even painted my nails in a week! Gasp!

Don’t think I’ve abandoned you, because I haven’t! I’m leaving for Hawaii on Friday, and it won’t be a moment too soon. But before then, I wanted to do a giveaway to say thanks for everyone’s continued support and Happy Holidays to everyone!   There’s not a lot of time before I leave, so this is a 48-hour giveaway!

Here’s the prize! It’s fun for making a gradation or color fadeout on the nails. Here’s some more details and a tutorial here.

But…there’s a catch. In the comment section, you have to tell us the worst present you ever got! Please make sure that your username has a blog or email address linked to it (most do) or let me know in the comments so I can contact the winner.  Also included will be a bottle of Pa nail polish and some nail decals! Winner will be chosen randomly on Thursday morning, Japan time.  Open to all readers worldwide!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Non-Nail Stuff, Supplies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Gradation Liquid Giveaway!

  1. april says:

    The worst present I ever received was from an aunt who obviously just rummaged around her closet and gave my sister’s and i each a pair of pants that were on their last legs anyway. My aunt is about 5’2″ and I am 6′ tall just to make it even worse.

  2. Susie says:

    Happy Holidays and nice giveaway.
    The worst present I ever received was from my Mother In Law. Now her intentions were loving but it was 4 foot by 5 foot very gaudy painting of Jesus. I mean it was BAD. I acted gracious and thankful. We found someone years later that loved it and they now enjoy it.
    Susie in northern NY

  3. Lani says:

    The worst present I’ve ever gotten was expired chocolate.

  4. Mary Beth says:

    The worst gift I ever got was last Christmas, when my Grandma sent me an ocarana (a peruvian flute) the problem was, it was the same one my little brother had left at her house seven years before by accident!

    mblehman@gmail.com

  5. kitty says:

    I’d have to say the worst present I’ve received was when my aunt got me a large metal decorative vase … for my 6th birthday. Needless to say, it wasn’t put to its proper use and ended up gathering quite a lot of dust in a closet somewhere.

  6. Hannah says:

    The worst present I received ever was from a supposedly bff of mine who gave me a metal tag off some product she bought before. I am not even kidding. You know those branded pencil cases/clothes/jeans where they come with a metal tag with their logo emblazoned on it which you’re supposed to remove no matter how pretty it may be?

    yeah.

    she wrapped it too.

    idk what she is trying to tell me. maybe ‘lets break up as bffs’ because i am thoroughly baffled and have no other way to explain it.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      No, she sounds cheap! Is she having financial problems? Maybe that would explain it. If her finances are really tight, I’d say it’s the thought that counts.

      If not, it sounds like she wanted to give you something but not enough to go shopping!

      • Hannah says:

        no. I thought that too. But then she gave a pair of quite expensive earrings to my sister whom she isn’t even close with. We celebrated our birthdays together since the its only a week apart.

        My sister was completely baffled as to why she would do that too because she seldom talked to her.

  7. Jessica says:

    My worst present ever was a cheap umbrella for christmas, my parents definitely went for quantity over quality on that one! Naw but I still love em’ and I still have the umbrella… somewhere… I think.

  8. The worst present I ever got were cheap Claire’s earrings from my ex’s mom. They rusted over pretty quickly.

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    LOL! You guys are cracking me up! Keep ‘em coming!

  10. Anne says:

    Hand sanitizer and a ping pong paddle.

    beat.space.nine@hotmail.com

  11. Sarah says:

    A wadded up kleenex in a tiny matchbox from my brother when we were little. (I don’t think it was used… :P)

  12. Abby says:

    Oh god. Worst present ? The one I can’t remember would be http://media.photobucket.com/image/glow%20worm/windip/glow_worm.jpg I have photo’s where I look pure disgusted as a child and then I cried my eyes out. If I could find the picture I’d scan it as it’s hilarious.

    Out of the modern day presents I’d say the W.H.Smiths gel pens that I’d been craving for so long – and found in the cupboard a month early so I was super excited to know I was getting them; then when getting them they’d all dried out.

    Seeing as I’m as obsessed with pens as I am nails I just about lost the plot. :)

  13. Melia says:

    Worst gift… That actually needs some thought. It would probably be the I LOVE YOU ring I got from a boyfriend at 15. He got it for me for Valentine’s day, just before he broke-up with me. It also turned my finger green for the few days I wore it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Ah, the jewelry that turns us green. I think we’ve all had some of that! At least it wasn’t an engagement ring that turned your finger green!

  14. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I had a Glow Worm just like the one in that photo. I loved it!

    When I tried to take him on a plane, the airport security ripped his guts out and he never glowed again. He was murdered in front of my eyes! Someone in my family got me the female one in the pink dress to make up for it but it just wasn’t the same. The Glow Worm incident took place in the mid-80s. If a kid tried to bring one on the plane now, the TSA would probably call the bomb squad, have GW blown up, and then throw the kid in prison as an accomplice. Oh, and they’d indict the smoldering plastic remains of Glow Worm on terrorism charges.

    • Abby says:

      Oh my god that’s brutal. But hahahaha! You’re right there.

      I don’t suppose you can award yourself the prize though. The cellulite cream seems to have trumped everyone elses worst presents.

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Oh, that cellulite cream wasn’t given to me. If it had been, I wouldn’t be blogging. I’d be in jail for homicide. It was given to a friend of mine by her husband.

        Worse, it was Christian Dior and she saw the package and got all excited…only to open it up and find “slimming cream!” Talk about disappointment!

  15. flinty says:

    The worst present I’ve ever received was from my father. One year, for my birthday, he gave me a bracelet that I thought was pretty ugly and not my style of jewelry at all. But that wasn’t the bad part. The bad part was that he got me the exact same bracelet for my birthday the year before.

  16. Joy says:

    The worst present was these tall, skinny, ulgy ceramic brown things from my uncle for my wedding. I think they’re supposed to be book ends since there’s a hole on the bottom of each one and there’s 2 of them. Not really sure though :P

  17. Michaela says:

    the worst present i received was for christmas probably when i was 15 or so (in perspective, i’m 22 now). my relatives from San Francisco flew to RI over the summer and then that christmas sent my cousins and i gifts. we all received old navy performance fleeces… at 15, I was 5 feet and a little under 100 pounds. she got this hideous bright yellow performance fleece in a size EXTRA LARGE. it was too big for every relative there and i don’t know why she’d buy that size for a teenager that she just saw several months ago. terrible! i donated it.

  18. lilia says:

    My worst present was one of those tiny memo notebooks. Even worse it was wide ruled, made from horrible quality paper, yellowed, and smelled like mothballs. What a wonderful present for an 8 year old, Grandma.

  19. Melissa says:

    My grandmother gave me a bright green and orange jacket from Steinmart. It was just….no. I can’t think of a single person, in any circumstance, that could wear such a thing and not have everyone else do a double take when they see it. SO ugly. The texture made it look like it was a couch, as well.

    It’s at the very very end of my closet. I feel bad doing anything else with it (definitely not wearing it ever!)

  20. thiamere says:

    the worst gift that i ever received is a roll of tissue paper..
    hehehe

    i had a fit over that!
    >_<

    thiamere@kuririnmail.com

  21. Halifax says:

    Can’t say I got any bad presents. If anything I don’t like, I can always regift or donate it. Thanks for the giveaway.

  22. Lisa says:

    The worst present I ever received was from my dad, right after my parents got divorced. He had gone to World Market and grabbed a few things that looked generically Asian (I was studying Japanese at the time). It was unfortunately rather thoughtless.

  23. Nixxy says:

    My Aunt (who is famous for her bizzare presents) decided that what I needed for my momentous 21st birthday was…a picnic basket. Yeah. When asked why, she responded “Well, I thought one day you might want to go on a picnic…” Um…well…OK… could you at least have put a bottle of vodka in there? :D

  24. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Since you guys are all sharing, here’s some of the worst I’ve personally seen, but I won’t name any names:

    1. Cellulite lotion given by clueless husband- boy was he in trouble!
    2. Self-help books, like “Codependent No More”
    3. Elizabeth Taylor “Passion” perfume or whatever it’s called- that stuff is chemical warfare in a purple bottle
    4. Mustard

  25. Serikiyo says:

    Awesome giveaway! This stuff is actually on my wishlist this year! :D

  26. Serikiyo says:

    Awesome giveaway! This stuff is actually on my wishlist this year! :D

    Like most of the comments, my worst present was from my aunt. It didn’t seem so bad at first when I saw it was a Victoria’s Secret bag; but of course don’t judge a book by its cover… It wound up being a whole collection of her OLD bras and underwear. They were lacy, ugly, bulky bras and four giant pairs of “granny panties” from the 70’s/80’s. Gross.

    >.<

  27. Serikiyo says:

    Sorry about the double post! My computer spazzed. :P

  28. Kristin says:

    OOOHH Gradation nail liquid! I have been lemming this forever! The worst present I’ve gotten was a gorgeous pair of jeans that was juuuust barely too small for me–an insult and a disappointment in one! It was from my mom, too, so I think she was dropping weight loss hints. I was so depressed after that!! :(

  29. Rebecca says:

    These are so much fun to read!!!
    Hmm.. bad presents… I’ve gotten lots :P
    These 3 that are the worst:

    1. A “count to 10″ book for toddlers from my Aunt – for my 13th birthday! (I never asked her about that)

    2. My dad gave me a math workbook for Christmas when I was 9 years old… (and I’ve never liked math)

    3. My Aunt (different from #1) gave me a sweater that had a zipper that went straight into the hood. Might have been cool – except that the one time I wore it, my hair got caught in the zipper and had to be cut out…

    What’s with Aunt’s giving bad presents!!!
    Anyhow, I think the math workbook was the worst… I was so disappointed and horrified I cried :P

  30. wixbetty says:

    Had a boyfriend who thought a matching black leather fringed jacket and skirt combo would make a nice gift, “because HIS MOM had a set just like it!”

    They were not, are not, and never will be a style I could have pulled off, and luckily, I got out of that relationship before any mention of leather pants (You know, to complete the set…) Yikes.

  31. Crystal says:

    I was so excited to see this giveaway! Thanks for the opportunity!! :)

    Worst present?… a recycling trash can with a paper shredder for Christmas from my then-boyfriend’s parents.

    Man, mine doesn’t compare to some of these others!

  32. misssim says:

    The worst gift I have received was a packet of $2 jewellery (the little kiddie kind, and very obviously cheap – think big fake ‘diamonds’, gold plated plastic). It was a kris-kringle gift, when the price limit was $10, and I was 18 at the time!

  33. Anna says:

    This is a fun giveaway! Been cracking up reading through all the comments!

    The worst christmas gift I ever recieved was a sh*tload of fried onions and a flash light. In the same package!
    I got it from my brother when we were kids and didn’t exactly have a huge budget to spend on christmas gifts. We decided on spending $2-3 on eachother and I guess that was the best he could come up with!
    He’s gotten better at buying gifts since though!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Wait…fried onions and a flashlight? Is your brother related to the hand sanitizer/ping pong racquet handle guy? Both are so totally random…LOL!

      • Anna says:

        I was thinking that too lol! Twins seperated at birth!

        My brother has always had an odd sense of humor, I was around 9yo at the time and I think I cried some cause I had actually made an effort to get him something useful on that tiny budget :P
        But that’s what siblings are for, at that age!

  34. Krystal says:

    my birthday is on the 19th, so I typically get Christmas and birthday presents wrapped up in one package, but the worst was the year that my aunt got me a tape player for my birthday (this was the early 90s) and my Christmas gift was batteries. BATTERIES.

  35. Bernice says:

    The worst gift I got was a kitchen sink. I thought it was a sewing machine. He has since made up for it. LOL
    Bernice

  36. PwrLftrChick says:

    A melon sized purple plastic ornament.

    yeah

    To make matters worse, it was from VERY wealthy family members! And yes, they supposedly adored me!
    I am totally on board with the “It’s the thought that counts”, but how much thought went into “Oh look, a $1 plastic ornament! we’ll get her that!”

  37. Paige says:

    The worst gift I got was a baby blue business suit from my mother when i was in my punk rock stage (and a waitress)…It felt like a slap in my face from my mother that I wasn’t what she wanted me to be. :(

    But we are cool now. Thanks for the great chance and blog.!!

  38. Len says:

    Worst present was clothes. What’s bad about that you say…everyone else got a toy, awesome toys. My little sis got a bike! and all i got was a tshirt and shorts :-( When you’re 10 yrs old and your little 6 year old sis get’s a bike, totally not fair.

  39. Kitty says:

    What a wonderful giveaway!

    I think I’ve blocked my worst gift from memory, but one that immediately popped into mind was Post0it notes. Not even colored ones, the plain boring little yellow ones. Oh well, at least they were useful!

    Hope you have a great trip!

  40. Deniz says:

    The worst present I got was 6 years ago from my ex-boyfriend, and it was a handbag resembling some animal’s insides. I’m not kidding. But animal insides don’t have little golden beads sewn on them, so I’m guessing it was a bag. The worst part was, he made his mom pick something for me. He was about to dump me, which he did a week later. I’m thinking, why bother getting a present then?
    I’m just sorry for the most gorgeous sweatshirt I got for him. He still shamelessly wears it =D And I threw mine in the rubbish, because nobody I knew cared for the bag.

  41. kelliegonzo says:

    thanks for the giveaway chance! i hope you have an awesome time in hawaii doll <3

    the worst present i have ever received was one of those velvet paintings of jesus from one of my "friends" at work. she was really more of an acquaintance and we weren't exchanging gifts, she just left it on my desk at christmas time last year! i think she was trying to give me a hint to change my sinful ways hahaha, like that tacky thing was going to change my agnostic mind! it was so creepy :P i gave it to goodwill that day haha!

  42. JustScarllet says:

    The worst present i have ever got was a dark wood portrait from my aunt that doesn t match at all with me or my room, which is pink orange. I just hate that.

    Kisses

  43. Lisa says:

    The worst gift I received was a broken ceramic and cloth angel that played music. It was so gaudy, I felt bad. Of course I’m still friends with the dear girl, but to this day I still wonder what she was thinking.

  44. Gladys says:

    Worst present I’ve received was when I was in Junior High School, my then best friend gave me a Snoopy beanie baby. Not bad right? Until I remember I gave this to her in 5th grade for her birthday!

  45. Annabelle says:

    My owrst gift would have to be either the gross wool sweater from my dad (a size too big and I hate wool) or the cheerleading notebook from my sister. Cheerleading. Notebook. I don’t do cheerleading, never evn liked sports all that much. Or writing. =] Those were both on the same day, too. Or maybe the socks from my mom. People like to get me clothes for some reason…=]

    itwasu@gmail.com

  46. Some of these comments are great! How do people come up with these gifts? :D

    My worst gift was a book of 15 miles hiking routes. Not bad in itself because I used to love to hike, were it not that I had been diagnosed with arthritis a couple of years earlier and my health had really taken a turn for the worst. I was in rehabilitation, practically in a wheelchair and was told I had to drastically change my life and those long hikes weren’t an option any more.
    And someone gives me a book of hiking routes I will never be able to do again.

    I still don’t know what was going on in their head. I’m sort of hoping it was meant as some sort of motivational gift but frankly I think it was really, really unconsidered. We left the Christmas party early that year.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That is wretched and inconsiderate, to say the least. I can’t believe someone you presumably know and like would be so cruel as to torment you, but it was definitely thoughtless as best. Like giving chocolates to a diabetic but 100 times worse.

  47. Shayla says:

    Most presents my dad’s mom got me were pretty bad. She never put any thought into them. One year, for Christmas when I was 15, she got me a set of pyjamas that were pale purple and something a 7 year old would wear…and they probably wouldn’t have fit me since I was 7, either!

    Blog is http://reve-noir.blogspot.com, and email is shayla.damery@gmail.com

  48. lily says:

    hello
    i love it !!! do you know where we ca buy this product ?
    thanks
    lilynail

    http://my-little-world-of-polish-by-lilynail.blogspot.com

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Well, you can enter the giveaway contest and win it! But sorry, I think it’s impossible to find outside of Japan. But if you let us know your worst gift ever in the comments, you can enter to win a bottle.

  49. Arie says:

    Hi Jen,
    This giveaway is really nice!

    My worst present is a cake made by my mother in law! ,I don’t eat cakes and my mother in law always make’s me one on my birthday :( , and this year she made me two !!!!!! ahhhhhggggggg!!! (this is a curse).

    I have several times expressed that I don’t like (to eat ) cakes.
    Sometimes I say nice compliments on her cakes because I admire the art work, maybe that’s why? , anyway finally my chunky hubby always eats them ^_^

    Thank you and have a great time in Hawaii ;)

  50. Bonnie says:

    the worst gift i’ve ever recieved was a gift card to a steakhouse.
    i’m vegetarian.

  51. Bonnie says:

    Whoa, sweet giveaway!
    The worst present I got was a pack of M&Ms from a vending machine. It was from a secret Santa gift exchange which some people from work. I guess some people don’t really care for gift exchanges or don’t read the price range for these gifts. Oh well.

  52. zidisha says:

    Oh, these are all so terribly funny.

    I can’t think of any horendous presents. But one bad-ish one I can remember was in elementry school, maybe 3rd or 4th grade? My “bff” at the time gave me a litle adress book. Odd enough of a gift for an 8 year old, but in addition it had someone elses name engraved and painted onto the front. Don’t know if she stole it or what…

    Thanks for offering this giveaway!

  53. Nathalie says:

    The worst present I ever got was for my 11th birthday. A girl which I invited gave me a very old used book. The paper was already yellow, not white, some pages were torn or scribbled on. When I said “I love all kinds of books for my birthday” I didn’t think of something like that.

  54. Tierney says:

    Wow, great giveaway!

    I can’t think of any bad Christmas presents, but on my 16th birthday I was extremely disappointed when my mom gave me a blanket and a popcorn bowl. Then the next year when my sister turned 16 my mom gave her a thousand dollars for her own little shopping spree with her best friend.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Ouch!
      But all kidding aside, it can be really devastating when parents show favoritism like that. Hope your sister bought something for you during her spree!

  55. Ana S says:

    The worst gift I received was a little figurine that didn’t even cost 3 cents (I know because I saw them at a store) from a friend :/ I was a little upset because she gave my other friend a dog plush :/ but oh well~~~

  56. Kathy says:

    When I was 10 or something, I got a toaster and some math books to share amongst my siblings.

  57. Volyund says:

    The worst present I ever got was a cheap cubic zirconia and alloy ring and heart shaped pendant from by ex-bf’s mom. I smiled politely and later donated it to Value Village, because I just couldn’t wear it.

  58. Katie says:

    1st Story – The worst gift I can remember receiving was actually at my birthday party when I turned six. I got a washcloth as my present from one of my friends. Granted it was a white washcloth with dinosaurs, but it was a washcloth and more importantly, the dinosaurs had no heads. What made it especially bad was that I got two of them that year. At the same party. And one from my godsister. You know kids aren’t buying gifts at six, so what were these insane parents thinking?

    2nd Story – My great-aunt is always buying me interesting items that are on sale. My roommates and I got into collecting penguins in college, and ever since then, I can expect penguin-themed presents for birthdays and Christmases. She continued the headless animal theme by giving me a penguin-laden, winter-wonderland repeating patterned sweater – where the penguins were all missing their heads. We looked and couldn’t find them anywhere on the sweater, so it’s not like the machine malfunctioned or that a penguin carnage was being depicted. I donated the sweater, needless to say.

  59. Evelyn says:

    In order to understand how terrible this “gift” was, you’d have to understand that I am incredibly lactose intolerant. Any dairy at all is a hugely bad idea for me, and even being around it I get very uncomfortable.

    For christmas, my uncle occasionally likes to harass a member of our family in good spirits, as their gift. We rarely mind, since it’s usually just something like slipping a fish down our backs or the like. (In my family it’s either deal or get lost).

    He covered his hands in blue cheese, dipped them in a bowl of feta and wiped them all across my hair, face and sweater.

    Now not only was this not funny for anyone around me, but the fact that I nearly burst into tears while he grinned at me was really terrible. It took him ten minutes to realize what he’d done.

    I didn’t get an apology, he just avoided me the rest of the day.

    I don’t hold it against him, but I AM rather cautious of him on that day now. :)

  60. eunhyung says:

    Hi! I love your blog even though I’ve been a silent reader!
    When I saw this I knew I had to respond..I’ve gotten some pretty bad gifts:
    1. Used deodorant..for MEN

    2. A shirt that was too small. The bad part was when I told the giver it was too small, he gave it to his sister who is older than me…and it fit her perfectly. Ouch!

    3. At one birthday party I was given THREE Life board games by different people…

  61. Crystal says:

    Worst present I’ve ever gotten was this rain monitor my aunt had given me which allowed me to calculate the total amount of rain per square inch. You put the jar outside and basically let it fill up with rain. There was nothing else that happened. The saddest thing was that this was quite an expensive gift.

    Have fun in Hawaii! Alohaaa! :D

  62. Gailw says:

    My ex-MIL gave me a sweater that she bought in 1983–I received this lovely item in 1998. It was wrinkled and dusty to boot, and smelled like feet. Ugh. It was probably in her closet for 15 years, underneath her shoe rack.

  63. MoLo says:

    The worst present I ever got was a cheapo “body fragrance” from Wal-Mart I got in a 7th grade gift exchange. It smelled TERRIBLE and made me gag. I told the gifter that I thought I was allergic to it and threw it away!

    Thanks for doing this giveaway!
    runamok86 at yahoo dot com

  64. Rita u says:

    Awesome give away!

    I had a b/f who once gave me a necklace with a charm. I took it out the box that it obviously didn’t come in and noticed that the clasp was missing and the chain was broken. Later he asked why I wasn’t wearing it.

  65. amber says:

    my worst christmas gift ever was fudge! My mom’s then boyfriend was trying to make a good impression on me, and it totally did NOT work. It was cream colored fudge, room temp, and soft and goey. I thought it was soap! When he told me to lick it, I just stared at him.

    Eew.

    Amber

    Thank you for such an awesome giveaway!!!

  66. amber says:

    oh wait! thought of another one – hhaaha. For my 21st birthday, my mom gave me a BACK SCRUBBER. And for graduation from college, she gave me a TANK TOP.

  67. tartofraises says:

    hello ! I think my worst present was a a statue of a clown witch stank !!!! I hate this statue !!!!

  68. Magnolia says:

    The worst gift I ever got was a flip-tab can opener, which looked an awful lot like a pirate hook. It was from my now ex-boyfriend’s grandfather. Didn’t they add the flip tabs to make cans easier to open? Did he think I had a problem opening cans? I did attempt to use it and I was never able to get it to work properly. It’s still in my kitchen gadget drawer.

  69. foocha says:

    I can’t say that I’ve had many “bad” presents gifted to me, they’ve been pretty decent so far.
    But this one time, my ridiculous mother gave me my graduation present . . . five months later . . . for Christmas. It was a cute little stuffed puppy with a graduation hat on. Well I thought it was cute until it started to exclaim “You did it! You did it!” which my mom found hilarious, of course. I’m generally horrified and offended by singing/talking stuffed animals so I just smiled awkwardly while she laughed at how crazy she was. She had the thing sitting in her closet the whole time but kept forgetting to give it to me. And we LIVE IN THE SAME HOUSE! But my mom’s a great mom, and very good to me. Thank you, Mommy!

    And thanks for hosting this giveaway! It’s really fun! :D

    • foocha says:

      I forgot to add that my mom knows that I really don’t like those sort of things. But somehow she figured I would love it for Christmas.

  70. Elisa says:

    Hawaii for the winter? Sounds amazingggg! :D
    Worst present…probably…a barbie doll from my godmother when I turned 18. I hadn’t seen her in forever which could have maybe somehow justified it…but still, what was I going to do with a barbie doll at my age? Sigh. haha

Leave a Reply

