Sally Hansen Opulent Cloud Franken

This is a request from ages back- sorry it took so long!

Sally Hansen Opulent Cloud was released sometime earlier this year in the HD collection (don’t ask me why they tried to make it sound all hi-tech, it’s all just nail polish) in a range of bright colors, and a somewhat random grayish blue which is Opulent Cloud.  I could be wrong on the details, as there is no Sally Hansen here in Japan.

Long story short, lots of ladies were looking for this gray and couldn’t find it. It looked intriguing to me too, but Sally Hansen is dodgy on their animal testing policies, so I decided it was best to give it a pass. Then I got a franken request for it, so let’s see what I can come up with…

In some photos, it looks almost like a bluish steel gray, and in some photos, it looks like it leans more towards taupe. I decided to split the difference between the two and mix a franken somewhere in the middle.

IMG_7117

The index finger is slightly more blue than the others. This was actually not too hard to make.  First, I mixed up a pea-sized about of medium gray from black and white.  Then I added a quarter-sized amount of Misa On The Edge, a medium blue creme. This gave me a slightly lighter bluish-gray creme.  From there, I added (gosh, the name label is gone but I think it’s Orly Golden Halo) to the mix. It’s a slightly pinkish color with a really strong gold flash. I painted the index finger with that, then added one drop of Essie Lady Godiva (creme chocolate brown) to the mix and painted the rest of my fingers.

IMG_7119

Anyone have the real color? As you can see, the original looks very different in different lights. I personally like the bluish rather than the taupe but that’s just me.  But for a medium neutral shade with a gold flash, this is satisfying enough for me!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Famous Frankens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sally Hansen Opulent Cloud Franken

  1. kelsealaurel says:

    There is a picture of me wearing opulent cloud on my blog

    http://www.kelsealaurel.blogspot.com

    It’s not as opaque or dark as the one you made, but I really love both, maybe even yours a little more! =)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the photo! Yours looks different from Scrangie’s and the All Lacquered Up one…this is a tricky chameleon indeed!

  2. amber says:

    this is an amazing franken! I LOVE IT!!!

    Amber

    ambersmouthwash

  3. Lucy says:

    I don’t own this polish but I love your franken. Very pretty.

  4. Jen says:

    This is way better than the swatches I have seen of Cloud. Far more complex. Well done.

  5. Doo says:

    I’d much rather get this color to my nails than any of the looks the real Opulent Cloud presents itself in. Your franken seems to have more depth and character. Coolness and then warm gold. Astonishing beauty!

Leave a Reply

