Rusty Feather

I wanted to get a little more autumnal color on today, so here’s something a bit more seasonal and also super easy:

IMG_7023

This is MAC Reflects Rust glitter and I just mixed it with some clear polish to get the shade above. It was opaque in two coats and smooth.

But, it needed a little something else, so I busted out a large Fauxnad plate that has a feather pattern.

IMG_7030

The feather took up more space on the nail than I intended, but it was kind of a fun pattern. It makes me feel like a ’20s flapper. The Fauxnad is definitely tricky to use and I smudged my pinkie, which is why I’m not showing it to you here!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Reds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rusty Feather

  1. Lucy says:

    Love that pretty shade that is peeking out behind the feather. Fun manicure. Does make me think of the 1920′s and the flappers.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I’m not sure what I’m going to do with all this rusty red glitter, but it’s a fun shade. If I dress up as a flapper, this is my mani!

  2. Lumin0us says:

    That color is stunning!
    And the feathers!….I’m in Love!!!

  3. beautyjudy says:

    I love the shade you created! I want that pigment for my eyes so badly! Red and orange do wonders for blue/green eyes :) I like the fauxnad design as well. Can you recommend a fauxnad dealer?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Judy,
      Thanks for stopping by! This is actually a superfine microglitter, so I’m not sure if it’s OK for the eyes, but there must be a matching pigment out there.

      I got the Fauxnad from Chez Delaney at http://www.chez-delaney.com/delaney.html

      But these disks are not that easy to use! It’s definitely nice to have a larger pattern but they are a bit tricky. All that aside, the service was very good and the shipping was fast.

  4. amber says:

    lovely!! I wish Konad had that print!!

    Amber

    ambersmouthwash

  5. DeAnn says:

    OH My GOODNESS! I think this is my favorite! FABULOUS girl!!!

  6. Annabelle says:

    ooooo, feathers! Birds! haha, what fauxnad is that??

Leave a Reply

