Silver Konad Polish

I’m working through my requests and emails and I really want to thank everyone for your patience! I’ve gotten some emails about Konad metallic stamping polishes in silver and gold. They are problematic for a lot of people, it seems.  They’re too darn sheer and they don’t show up well.  I got silver and gold bottles on seperate occassions and found them both to be rather useless.

But, if you have a bottle of metallic Konad Special Polishes that you’ve given up on, don’t despair! I added some super-metallic silver pigment to mine, and lookee what I got!

IMG_6976

I used a Body Shop Shimmer Cube in silver and added it directly to the bottle of Konad. I recommend the finest pigment you can get, because chunky ones will just fall to the bottom of the bottle as the polish is so thick.  A bum note about the Body Shop- they were bought by L’Oreal, who engage in animal testing, and so I’m not buying anything from them again. I know they have an earth-friendly image, but that’s just the marketing.  But I swear I bought the eyeshadow while they were still an independent company!

The base color is OPI Ink with a coat of Hot Topic Purple (sorry, no names!) added on top. I wanted a dark base to show you how the silver really pops.  OPI Ink is a nice color, but it’s a little too blackish on. I wish it looked more like it did in the bottle, but a thin coat of that Hot Topic gives it a nice depth.

If adding pigment to your Konad polishes is too much trouble, the China Glaze Romantiques and new Khromes work well with Konad for metallic stamping.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Nail polish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Silver Konad Polish

  1. Deniz says:

    Looks beautiful!
    Since I’ve been informed that Body Shop was bought by L’Oreal, I’ve never ever bought anything from them again, it’s so hard to accept that the image they’re selling is a great lie.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Thank you for this post!!! I can finally fix my Konad metallics, yay!!
    What did you use to shave off the glitter from the cube, just out of curiosity?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Rebecca,
      I just use an eyeshadow brush to brush off the shadow into a little pile. You can do it over an old piece of paper, then pour the powder directly into the Konad bottle.

  3. Annabelle says:

    I always thought the gold and silve were meant for top coats…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hmm, they were sold as Konad Special polishes and they’re really thick, not the glittery ones. I’ll have to check it out again, but I”m pretty sure these were meant for stamping.

  4. Sanna says:

    Thanks for the info! I too have the gold and silver special polishes and they really suck. I tried to find info about these polishes from the net before purchase but couldn’t find any… Wouldn’t have bought them if I had know how useless they actually are. But now I’m gonna try adding some pigment to them :)

  5. Li Lian says:

    hi

    I was wondering how did you add the pigment?

    I have the shimmer cube too but it’s in a cube so did you scrape off the eyeshadow then dump it in the nail polish? isn’t it messy?

    thanks

  6. Lucy says:

    Love this manicure. There isn’t one manicure that you do that I don’t love.

  7. Sture says:

    ooh love it!
    what number is the skull one? ^^

Leave a Reply

