Easter Dress Pink

This is not a fall color at all, let’s say this one is for the gals down under!  I had a frilly Easter dress when I was a kid that was exactly this color.

I’m always on the lookout for a good, safe pink that goes with my ghostly hands, but I’m not really crazy about pink. The pales blend in with my skintone, and the beige-toned ones make me look ill. Forget about the corals!

But a cool-toned slightly blue-based pink works for me, and I got to make one out of a polish I had almost given up hope on: OPI Movin’ Out. It’s a really sheer purplish/pink duochrome with teeny red (!) microglitter. It’s just milky enough so I’m not crazy about it over darks because it can look streaky, but there is no hope of this ever being opaque.

I added some (no-name dollar store) eyeshadow to Movin’ Out and mixed them in a muffin tin. The rather hideous lavender shadow (what was I thinking?!) was a little lighter than the base color of the polish, and then I added some bluish microglitter. It was still too sheer, so I painted it over a base of bright white (OPI Alpine Snow Matte). This is three coats.

IMG_6972

IMG_6974

Blurred to show the sparkle, but didn’t really work out.

I think it’s still too much trouble, but I wanted to use Movin’ Out. It’s such a nice color, but why did it have to be so sheer?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Pastel, Pinks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easter Dress Pink

  1. Annabelle says:

    I love this lavender color! The non-frankened version looks like it would be so pretty, but I hate sheers.

    How exactly does one muasure thier nails? I think I’ll just get some custom done. =]

  2. Doo says:

    It’s beautiful, my kind of color! So you made the whole bottle? What if you just devide it between 2 bottles and add some white to both of them? I’d be willing to swap the other bottle if there’s too much “Easter dress” for you then ;)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Doo!
      I usually just make enough for one manicure by pouring out the polishes and glitters, etc. in a silicone baking cup and apply with an old brush from an empty bottle of clear polish. That way I can mix lots of colors from one bottle.

  3. Lucy says:

    That’s a really pretty shade on you. Sheer polishes just drive me crazy. Especially when you don’t know they’re sheer.

Leave a Reply

