Glittering Ginko Leaf

I’ve been painting nails all day but I wanted to show a franken to everyone! Thanks for all your emails- I am still alive and well, just getting ready for the big show I’m doing in three weeks.

My nails and cuticles are in quite a state- I did get some gel coating to try and protect them from the ravages of making nails. I filed my own middle and index finger with a really gritty file by accident while trying to clean up the edges of some custom nails.  Unfortunately, that was before the gel coating was added.

But, anyway, here’s a fall franken. I’m not sure it looks great on me, but it’s the same color as the ginko trees will be turning soon. ¬†There’s a little avenue of ginko trees and the brilliant yellow is lovely, though I am most fond of orange maple leaves. When I see those, I know it’s really fall for sure.

RIMG0288

RIMG0289

This is 10 drops of OPI Need Sunglasses (medium yellow creme), mixed with 5 drops clear for a jelly yellow. From there, I added one teeny drop of neutral red (Essie Jelly Apple) to make the color a little more orange. I added 5 more drops of clear to the mix and then dropped in one pea-sized heap of MAC Reflects Teal Glitter. ¬†This is two thickish coats. I’m not crazy about the color on me and it clashes with my ghostly white skin, but I think it’s nice for fall.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Yellows and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glittering Ginko Leaf

  1. Violet says:

    I think it’s really beautiful colour. The glitter really makes it shine :)

  2. Lucy says:

    What a gorgeous yellow. I also think the glitter really makes this polish. Very pretty shade.

  3. kachihadashi says:

    Veeery nice! I think it would be pretty as a Konad base, too… maybe some green and brown ginko leaves?

Leave a Reply

