School Daze

Here’s a mani for those of you who unfortunately have to go back to school!  I never thought it made sense to go back in August, then have the Labor Day weekend, but it seems that school starts earlier and earlier.

I was a good student, but I hated school. Mostly I hated being picked on all the time, so if I had done this theme mani when I was actually a student, it would have featured a machete or something. Luckily, I graduated just before Columbine, so I probably wouldn’t have been arrested on a weapons charge.

I had to bust out some nail tips for this since I kept smudging on my natural nails. I included a pencil, chalkboard (matte!), marbled composition book, and an apple for some color.  The thumb is a bit wonky- it was supposed to be a sheet of notebook paper. I think if I re-did this mani, I’d use some of that really thin colored striping tape.

IMG_0349

IMG_0352

IMG_0351

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to School Daze

  1. gabrielle says:

    Really beautiful. I wish I could have your patience to do this!!!!

  2. Rachel says:

    This is so cute! i love the marble and matte chalkboard, the notebook paper is definitely cute too!
    hmm, What if all the nails are chalkboard and you do drawings on it? tehee…

  3. Kae says:

    How adorable! I love the apple and chalkboard! So cute

  4. Crystal says:

    Oh that’s just darling :D After 16 years of school, this mani actually makes me miss it! How funny!!

  5. Danielle says:

    Oh, I love the pencil and the notebook. Extremely cute mani!

  6. Annabelle says:

    Haha, thanks for thinking of us!! XD If i do this, I’m going to go all chalkboard. I love this whole mani, though!!

  7. lucy says:

    Jen you are such an inspiration with your art. I also love you writing. You just cracked me up reading about school. I wasn’t a lover of it either. I think I was a person who could’ve been a better student if I’d waited a few years to go to school. I think I appreciated things better now that I’m older.

  8. beautyjudy says:

    That is genius! I love this nail art!!

  9. Alexlyndra says:

    The apple was really cool. :D

  10. Sarah-Anne says:

    All of these are awesome! I think the marble is my favorite. I can’t believe I’ve already been back in school for two weeks and we just kicked off football season this weekend. It should still be summer!

  11. Sarah-Anne says:

    Yep, two weeks. Tomorrow begins week three, but I can’t really complain because before two or three years ago we went back the FIRST week of August.

  12. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks for all the lovely comments, ladies! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to answer each one individually but things have been really busy here!

Leave a Reply

