Marmalade Glitter

I’ve been making a lot of glitters lately. (Surprise!) Although I’m a glitter troll, it has to be a very specific kind of glitter. I’m not crazy about rough glitter and I generally prefer smooth to chunky. My favorite is fine glitter in a jelly base, like China Glaze Emerald Sparkle or Ruby Pumps. They have the formula dead on.  But aside from a couple colors,  there’s not a lot in this formula.  What to do…?

Stop! Frankentime!

The secret is to make a translucent base and to get the right kind of glitter. The base has to be a bit see-through, or else the glitter will clump up and you won’t be able to see it. But the base also needs to be colored, or you’ll have bare spots on the nail.  Try to make a base that is colored but allows light to pass through. You should be able to see your nail line in one coat but with a distinct color on the nail.

After you’ve gotten the base color down, choose a coordinating color of smooth, fine glitter.  Test your glitter first-many glitters will turn silver when they react with the nail polish- the chemicals strip off the glitter color.  The price of the glitter does not seem to be related to the colorfastness. I have had excellent luck with MAC Glitters but they are pricey. 

Here’s an orange glitter jelly that I made with 3 drops Essie Jelly Apple, 8 drops of OPI Lemonade Stand by Your Man, and then mixed. I added about 5 drops of clear polish.  So the mix is 30% red, 70% yellow, and then add half that much clear polish.

I then put in the glitter. Here’s what I got:

IMG_0062

IMG_0063

The finish was totally smooth. I used two pretty thick coats, no topcoat because I wanted to mattify it!

Here it is with a coat of Essie’s Matte About You:

IMG_0070

IMG_0068

I couldn’t stop playing with this one! I did some Konad and added clear polish to the tips, but the Konad wasn’t really sticking properly to the matte:

IMG_0071

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Konad, Oranges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Marmalade Glitter

  1. nivipa says:

    That color – in both finishes – is extremely flattering on you!

  2. I LOOOOOOOVE this polish!! I love the shade of red you made, just so nice and bright! Popping is the word that comes to my mind for this color.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Brooke! I’m addicted to the matte topcoat and have been putting it on everything.

      • I want you to know sung in my head all day and still today “dun dun dun dun, dun dun can’t touch this” since you put that damn hamertime reference in here. I can’t get it out of my head!!!!

  3. beautyjudy says:

    That’s a gorgeous bright glitter and I love it matte!!!

  4. Annabelle says:

    I’m partial to anything matte, but I love this beforehand, too. If I make this, I would probably make it with just slightly less yellow. But this is gorgess. What do you use to panit the polish??

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I use an old polish brush from a bottle of clear polish to paint it on, then dip it in remover so it’s clean for the next time.

  5. lucy says:

    Orange Marmalade is a perfect name for this beauty. Love the beautiful glittery look of it. What kind of glitter did you use for this? I also love this matte. I just got my Matte About You the other day. I just put on Sky High-Top last night. I’ll give it a day before I try the Matte.

  6. Angie says:

    Oh my god, the matte version looks AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

