TINS- The Sweet Beast

Here’s another TiNS by request. The color is sort of like glittering hard-boiled egg yolk, a sort of dusty yellow- but not dark enough to be mustard yellow. It’s called The Sweet Beast. This one is a hard color to pull off, especially on Asian skin, but I guess TiNS decided they wanted to be the first company to corner the coveted “Glittering Egg Yolk” market. 

IMG_0439

IMG_0437

The coverage on this was fair, it took 3 coats and two coats of Seche to even this one out.

But the look was a little stark, so I decided to do a 1970s vinyl floor tile inspired design.  When I was a kid, we lived in a sort of “loaner house” while our house was being built, and the outside of the house was this sort of mustardy light yellowish color (minus the glitter, of course). There was something a little scary about the house- there was a weedy backyard and some downed power lines that I was sure would electrocute me if they had half a chance. There was some pretty groovy 70s earth tones vinyl floor tile in the house as well. It was sort of a decoration nightmare: Early 70s Budget. I think the kitchen wallpaper had stagecoaches on it. The house is long since gone and has been turned into a parking lot.

So here’s my Ode to #810 New Haven Road:

IMG_0440

I used Konad Wine Red special polish for this, and it rocks. It’s translucent so the sparkles show through, but the coverage is great.  Sorry I forgot the plate number- it’s got a lot of cool geometric designs on it.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors, Yellows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to TINS- The Sweet Beast

  1. lucy says:

    That’s an amazing color. I love the glitter in it. That’s an amazing Konad. Really pretty. I like that, glittery egg yolks.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I wish I had a picture of that old tile. There was also a leaky green (?) bathtub in the house- maybe that’ll be my next inspiration!

  2. Callie says:

    I love that color! I like how it is unusual…..

  3. It’s a TiNS, so I GOTTA love it :)

  4. Annabelle says:

    I always have loved red and yellow together.

  5. nivipa says:

    And *I* had hoped to corner the Glittering Egg Yolk market!! I was only about six months away from release too! Oh, woe as me; twenty-some years of my life (sob) wasted!

    I do love the Konad pattern and colors, though :)

  6. hydramirage says:

    Love TINS! I have a whole bunch as well. But hell, their glitters are a pain to get off. Worth the trouble though.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, but not as bad as some others I’ve tried. A good basecoat helps too, but glitters are almost always a pain.

  7. Kathleen says:

    wow!!! I was so shocked when I scrolled down and saw the transformation once you stamped with the wine red polish! Very very artistic! Bravo!!!! You’re a MASTER!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad you liked it! :) I had never actually tried that pattern before and was surprised by how it turned out. I love that Wine Red- transparent yet really opaque.

  8. Kate says:

    Hi,
    I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now,
    it’s an inspiration for my own nail art!
    I live in Tokyo and i’ve benn looking for
    Tins polish for ages, where do you get yours?!
    Thanks
    Kate

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Kate,
    Cool! Another Tokyo reader!

    Try cosmetic stores (It’s Demo, Sony Plaza, CosmeStore) located in the larger train stations, like JR Shinjuku, Ueno, and maybe Shimbashi. There are some online catalogues as well, like NailYa-san, http://www.rakuten.co.jp/nail-yasan but you need to be literate in Japanese to order.

    • Kate says:

      Thanks for the tips. I usually go to Loft in Kichijoji or Shibuya but it can be a little pricey, especially the OPI stuff. Recently I`ve been keeping it glittery with some of the pa colours. I can`t believe the summer`s almost over, it never really started!

      Thanks again!

  10. Jennifer says:

    That red Konad on the yellow egg yolk shimmer reminds me of a beautiful, intricate design you might find on an Indian sari. Just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

