Shooting Stars

In honor of the Perseid shooting stars which I didn’t get to see here in Japan, here’s a celestial manicure. I only wore this for a bit because the little acrylic stars were just begging to be picked off.

I did a basecoat with Nubar Wildlife, from the recent Nubar collection. It’s a duochrome, medium warm green flashing warmish orange with a touch of copper. This was my first bottle of Nubar, and I was very impressed. No streaks, looked good in two solid coats, and very duochromey.

I had a bottle of Pa nail polish with confetti moons, stars and hearts, but it just did not want to cooperate with me. My plan was to just use that as a topcoat, but I couldn’t get an even application of the confetti with the brush alone. Usually, I’d get a toothpick and fish out the confetti, but it’s late here and I’m tired. Too much work! So I stuck on some plastic rhinestone stars and some yellow round confetti baubles.

Here’s a typically teeny bottle of Pa nail polish:

IMG_0402

I painted the tips with a silver glitter (China Glaze Tinsel?) and voila! My own shooting stars!

Did anyone see the real thing?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Metallic, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shooting Stars

  1. Danielle says:

    This mani is beautiful, unusual colours but the finished product is gorgeous. I’d pay to have this done! Thanks for sharing <3

  2. Serikiyo says:

    I saw one meteor. Too bright in my area. :(

  3. Lucy says:

    This is such a beautiful manicure. Your own shooting stars on your nails. I love it!

  4. mookiej says:

    I didn’t get to see it, it’s been raining and cloudy here, but You nails look “out of this world!” HeeHee!

Leave a Reply

