Pink Patchwork

Hello ladies and gents. I’m still unpacking my goodies and have been busy at work. I know at least a couple of people have been dying to see Starry Starry Night, but my nails need a filing, a light buff and some TLC before I’m ready to show them to the world again! I also got a paraffin spa that I want to try out and review for you. But for now, I’m going to post a little something I did before I went to the USA.

Here’s a franken I attempted to do before I got the air conditioner. You can see the bubbles in the finish because it wasn’t drying properly, but I like the color.  There are quite a few pinks and neons with iridescent flash (like the Color Club Neon Voltage collection). For me, it’s not an everyday color, so I’m just happy to add some iridescent eyeshadow or pigment (technically called “interference pigment”) to a bright shade.  These shades typically look like a pearly white but have a flash of color.

IMG_0269

This is Orly Berry Blast with a wee bit of MAC Frozen pigment. (Or maybe it’s called Frozen White? In any case, it’s a blue interference pigment that looks white in the jar, but flashes blue in polish or on the skin. ) I wanted the color to have a stronger blue flash, but I didn’t want to lighten the pink. I just wanted to make a duochrome, but I think this shade is more of an iridescent shimmer. Still nice and summery.

IMG_0271

I decided to jazz things up with a Konad pattern I almost never use: the sort of patchwork quilt one on plate M70 and Konad special polish in black. Something a little different but I’m going to try and use all the Konad designs I have as a sort of personal Konad challenge.

In other news, I have a little peeve from the US:  In a lot of stores, there were announcents about “Summer is ending- stock up on back-to-school items now!” I mean, the kids are going back at the very end of August. Do we have to keep inundating everyone with this stuff a full 3-4 weeks before school begins? It’s sort of like the Christmas decorations well before Halloween. I’m all for being festive, but it’s a little too much.

I guess that’s the long way of saying I’m not quite ready to get into fall shades yet.

Also: Have you noticed the new Categories at the top right of the page? I’ve tagged all the posts by color, so if you want to search Reds, Yellows, etc. just click on the category! I thought that would be an easier way to organize the archives a bit.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Nail polish, Pinks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pink Patchwork

  1. Michelle says:

    Very cool! Are those your real nails?!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! Generally unless stated otherwise, they’re real. I do my really intricate paint jobs on tips because I can’t paint teeny pirates or dolphins with my non-dominant hand.

      • Michelle says:

        I wondered because you have such a nice (and perfect) rounded shape to the polish at your cuticles, how do you do that???? I’m in love with my Konad, you’re making me think I’m needing some of the full nail pattern plates!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Hi Michelle,
        The most important thing is to make sure your cuticles are regularly moisturized. If they’re at all rough, they’ll get tiny bits of polish stuck to them.

        I paint on cuticle oil, handcream, Vaseline, etc. right next to the edge of the nail with a very small brush before I paint my nails. It sounds like a lot of work but it isn’t once you get used to it. I let it soak in a couple of minutes, then polish away. Any smudges on the cuticle can easily be wiped off, or removed with polish remover and a Q-Tip. Just be careful not to get the oil on your nails. I would guess that my manicures might not last as long as some, but I change my polish a lot, so I don’t really care too much.

      • Michelle says:

        Thanks!! I had read that tip in a magazine, but only tried it out on one nail (just to see). It does seem to work, I used shea butter and a q-tip. Thanks again, now that you reminded me, I’ll have to try it on all ten.

  2. Deniz says:

    you make me wanna buy plates I’ve never thought of buying! =)

  3. Sarah-Anne says:

    You are so right about the upcoming big events being talked about too early in the US. This is my last year of school but I always dread it and it never helps to see school stuff popping up at the end of July when we don’t go back until the third Monday of August.

  4. Lucy says:

    Beautiful nail polish color. I love the flash of blue. If that’s not pretty up you really amped it up. Love the Konad design. I’ve never seen this one before. Love the jewel. I know what you mean about rushing everything. I would especially hate it if I was a kid. I never wanted to be reminded that it’s back to school. Let everyone enjoy there summer. Retailers just have to get the school supplies and clothing sold early.

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    First of all, the pink colour looks amazing. Second of all, the finished product looks awesome! It looks so, cool and.. yeah.. I love it!

Leave a Reply

