Sunset Orange

I wanted to make a holo orange, since I don’t own one.  I believe there is one- OPI DS Treasure, but I don’t really think I’d wear orange holo enough to make a whole bottle worthwhile.

First, I tried mixing an oldie but a goodie (Sally Hansen Nail Prisms Rose Blush Diamond) with some yellow. It didn’t want to play at all- it balled up and got a weird skin. The Nail Prisms are from a very long time ago, and there was nothing like them on the market at the time, at least not where I lived. This color would have been too “Barbie” for me in high school when the bottle was actually fresh! This is three thin coats, no topcoat.

IMG_6383

IMG_6384

So I decided to give layering a try. I mixed up some transparent orange with 1/2  OPI Need Sunglasses, a medium creme yellow, 1/4 Essie Jelly Apple, and 1/4 clear polish. The idea was for the pink holo underneath to show under the translucent orange. Unfortunately, the orange was a little too dark to show the holo. I topped it off with a thin coat of Misa Candy Girl, a pink/purple duochrome microshimmer.

IMG_6386

It is a nice juicy summer color, but not quite the orange holo I wanted. I’m going to enjoy this color today and then try again tomorrow!

The weather in Tokyo has been pretty steamy. The long rainy season is about over, and now it’s hot.  My polish is acting weird- drying really fast, and getting strange clumps. Also, my Seche Vite thickened up overnight and I don’t have any more of the special Seche thinner. Has anyone ever tried regular lacquer thinner on Seche? I may have to give it a try since it’s like putting glue on my nails because it’s so thick.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunset Orange

  1. musicismylifee says:

    Love the first pink-ish color.

  2. Lucy says:

    Love both colors. What a shame that it didn’t work out. Hopefully you’ll have success tomorrow. You definitely have to use Seche Vite polish thinner. I tried the regular stuff and it didn’t do a thing. I don’t understand why it wouldn’t work. I had to buy the Seche Vite thinner. Both the Seche Vite and Poshe thicken up fast. I also bought the Poshe thinner when I bought the top coat. I wasn’t taking any chances this time.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the tip, Lucy. I don’t know why regular thinner doesn’t work either. Bummer- that means that I won’t be able to use Seche until I get the darn thinner. It’s really expensive in Japan, so I’ll pick up some in the US. It thickened up like crazy! It’s like Jell-O now after only a couple of days after being open.

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    I really like the cerise/pink!

  4. emily says:

    i personally think red-orange polish looks so much better than yellow orange! but that’s just me…

  5. Cara says:

    The pinker shade is my favorite, definately a rainbow!

Leave a Reply

