World 2-2

Today’s color is a gorgeous periwinkle based blue, if I do say so myself. I got OPI’s Dating A Royal, which is a gorgeous cool dark periwinkle creme, but my bottle was really sheer- it took 4 thickish coats to be opaque.

I figured I’d add some glitter and see what happened. I used MAC Reflects Teal to add some blue-based sparkle. MAC glitters are very pricey, but a little goes a long way. They are perfectly smooth in the polish and don’t clump at all. I just order them online so I don’t have to deal with the perpetually snooty salesclerks.

This is one half pea-sized scoop of MAC Reflects Teal in a quarter-sized dollop of OPI Dating A Royal. It was opaque in two thin coats.

IMG_6350

I had originally planned on doing an aquatic themed manicure with this blue, and I did, but in a very strange roundabout way.

I was thinking of what sea creatures should go on my nails, and I thought of Blooper, the squid from the original Super Mario Brothers. I remember when my family got the Nintendo. It had Duck Hunt and Super Mario Bros. game cartridge  and cost $100, which was a lot of money in 1986, but we had great fun with it.  Of course, now that stuff is all vintage, which makes me feel old (and I’m still under 30!)

There’s fireballs (aka red rhinestones) on my index finger and pinkie, a fireflower on my ring finger, and the star of the show, Blooper the squid, on the middle finger.

Bloopa

IMG_6353

IMG_6352

Mario was one of my favorites along with The Legend of Zelda. My mother went to the toy store every day when Mario 3 was coming out, because she wanted to get it for me right when it came out. She managed not only to intercept the truck, but convinced the manager to sell it to her so I could have it on the first day it came out. Thanks Mom!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to World 2-2

  1. Lisa says:

    OMG!Believe it or not, but i just finished pac – man manicure :)
    Gaming weekend?
    Your manicure is adorable, i really like it

  2. Aww, this is super cute and nostalgic for sure! And the rhinestones are great for the fire balls!

    I used to play the OLLD nintendo system too, (back in 1994? or something like that?) My cousin introduced me to the whole gaming world and played mario. I was so young and wasn’t really good at it but it was fun! =D And I totally remember duck hunt! I LOVED playing Zelda on the N64! My all time favourite for sure!

    Today, I still play mario and Zelda games on wii and the NDS lol. Nintendo is awesome!

  3. Deniz says:

    love!!!!!!!!!!!! <3
    I'm a total nintendo girl, own both ds and wii, and have about 50 games =D

  4. Alexlyndra says:

    We have the same favourites! I love Mario and Zelda. Totally amazing worlds of games. I love your designs!

  5. sparklynails says:

    owwwn I lovee Mariio *-*, love your nails too :D
    bloppersssss ♥
    Zelda is awsome too :)
    If you want.. Visit my nail blog too: sparklynails.wordpress.com
    Love your blog and your nails ;)

    xoxo :*

  6. nivipa says:

    I love the retro feel to your design! what a lot of fun. And I remember getting Duck Hunt, SMB, and even R.O.B. and Gyromite! Loved Legend of Zelda 0 and how you had to figure out how to get to the next part – like playing the flute at the lake. . . .

  7. Lucy says:

    How fun! I really enjoy these manicures. Your skills amaze me!

Leave a Reply

