Sapphire Dust

I was trying to franken an old hard-to-find China Glaze, Drinkin’ My Blues Away. It’s a glass fleck deep blue. But on the way, I was distracted by this color that I made, and decided to leave the Drinkin’ My Blues Away for another time.

IMG_5334

This is 1/2 Orly Star of Bombay, an inky navy blue that I use a lot in frankens (a blue with no red undertones! Yay!) and 1/4 OPI Dazzzle Me, a silver microshimmer in a very transparent blue base, and 1/4 OPI Princesses Rule, a glassy light pink with iridescent microglitter. I added 3 drops of OPI Need Sunglasses and was going to add more, then realized I liked the color as is!

IMG_5328

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sapphire Dust

  1. Angel says:

    Wow, this is such an gorgeous color! I really love blue colors, and this one is very special!

  2. Missy says:

    That is gorgeous!

    I just got my bottles of OPI Russian Navy and Chocolate Moose, and sadly – I’m disappointed in the both. CM is just too brown for my skin tone (I was hoping for something with more pink in it) and RN, while pretty, isn’t something I’d wear enough. :-(

    I might try them for frankening, though.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Missy.
      Try mixing a little pink into the CM (mix some on a pallette, not the whole bottle!) and see what you get. I love Russian Navy, but it is a little dark. Try mixing it with some neon blue, like Color Club 220V or Misa Pour Me Something Tall and Strong.

      • Missy says:

        Thanks for the idea. I think I’ll be experimenting tomorrow to see what I can come up with. Of course, then my Zoya’s are coming tomorrow too, so I see lots of color changes in my future.

  3. Violet says:

    That’s almost hypnotic! So pretty :D

  4. Lucy says:

    Very pretty Amanda. I always love everything that you Franken. Your an amazing mixologist. How do you know how much to mix for a manicure. I think you must know from experience. Pretty color.

Leave a Reply

