Stars

Today’s mani isn’t the most sophisticated ever but I will recycle it if  I ever go to any kiddie birthday parties.

I was trying to make a dusty purple with a green flash, but I didn’t get it quite right. I’d love to be able to franken duochromes, but so far it’s been pretty elusive. Duochromes pigments have specific light reflecting qualities that are different from ordinary pigments, I think. I’ve managed a couple of sorta duochromes, but nothing consistent.  This one’s another dud, but it wasn’t a horrible color.  I made a gray-based milkweed pinky/purple color, and added some pigment that reflects green to it. I did one coat on the thumb and two coats on the other fingers. I think it was more duo-chromey with one coat- you can see the more pinkish color on the side of the thumb where the light hits.

img_3204

I stuck some glittery star decals over it. It reminds me of a kid’s birthday card, but I don’t think I’d have used those giant star decals anyway. I got them in a “mystery bag” of nail stickers.

img_3207

My uploaded photos have gone all wonky when they’re loaded on my blog- they look like they were taken in a funhouse- there’s some kind of warping going on. But my blog service is free, so I guess I shouldn’t complain. I am thinking of buying a website so I have more control over how the site looks and what I can post, but I’m still just in the planning phase on that one.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stars

  1. Magnolia says:

    Your photos never look warped or distorted to me.
    I like the colors. The decals aren’t so kiddie. I’d wear them.. which I guess might not be saying much. I still <3 all kinds of kiddie things.

  2. Violet says:

    That’s a cute colour, I like the stars… but I like kids things too XD
    It’s funny, I used to have a blog which I hosted myself and had a wordpress template on and I found that the free wordpress that you put on your own site had less features than the free ones that they host for you. I ended up giving up and going over to blogger.com which is ok but I would still prefer my own site again.

    I’ve got a lot of experience in that area (I run a graphic design business) though so if you ever need any help I’d be happy to!

  3. Kae says:

    Before I read your text, my first thought was, oh a duochrome! I like the color, and who can say no to stars, PINK stars even!

  4. nivipa says:

    I definitely see the duochrom-ish-ness in your thumb! My laywoman’s vote would be that if you aren’t there yet, you’re mighty close =)

  5. Deniz says:

    I really really love this one! You always inspire me to do some nail art =)

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Lovely polish! Duochromes are always a joy. :) Those stars are so cool, I’d like to have som of those!

Leave a Reply

