Matte Hydrangea

I went to a small local amusement park recently where they had a Hydrangea Festival promising over 10,000 plants and a flea market to boot, so I thought I’d check it out. They did have a lot of hydrangeas, including red ones.

Unfortunately, they also had the saddest, most depressing “puppy petting zoo” ever. You paid $5 or so and got to manhandle a bunch of dogs, parrots, goats, etc. in gated-off pens.  The dogs (including a weiner dog!!!) sat in this open area, with no place to hide, and got forced to interact with kids all day. The dogs looked very listless and some of them were trying to run away from the kids, but there was literally no place to hide. Nobody was there to supervise the kids and dogs interacting, except the parents, who were not terribly attentive in some cases.

It gets worse: The dogs live in a metal cabinet and get put away for the night, like they’re robots. I guess when they aren’t making money, they just get shoved in the closet. It did have air conditioning, but it looked very unpleasant. I was pretty disgusted and I’m thinking of who to contact about this. I took photos and talked to the staff, who seemed surprised that anyone noticed that the dogs were indeed living creatures.

I’m sad I saw the doggie hell, but I’m going to take some action, so I hope something positive will come out of it. I would feel better if the dogs went home with a real human at night, or there was staff to supervise the little brats.

But, all that aside, there were some nice hydrangeas. Since I didn’t want to franken “Suffering Dog Brown,” I’ll go with a nice hydrangea-inspired franken. It’s the rainy season here now, so the sky was kind of whitish gray, which made the colors even more striking.

IMG_5639

IMG_5629

IMG_5669

IMG_5674

Sorry, my photos look kind of stretched out and weird. Here is my matte  franken, a color between the hydrangea blue and the gray sky:

IMG_5851

IMG_5850

I used a better quality rice powder, so I got less bumps in this one than I did in previous matte frankens, but it’s still not perfectly smooth. It was opaque in one coat and dried really fast.

I made a medium dove gray creme, and then made a medium blurple with royal blue matte eyeshadow and Essie Jelly Apple, a medium red jellyish creme. I added 1 part of the purple to 2 parts gray, and then added a 1/2 a pea-sized scoop of rice powder to the mix. I have to say it was not easy to remove, but I really enjoyed this one.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish, Pastel, Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Matte Hydrangea

  1. Kaybee says:

    I’m glad you are trying to call attention to those poor animals. It’s such a different culture as far as how animals are viewed. I give my own an extra hug when I see things like that. The hydrangea color is very beautiful and the matte look is striking! If you had hydrangea stickers or art to add would like another kimono.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Kaybee! I’m not sure what I’m going to do, but doing nothing is not an option. I’ll keep everyone updated on what happens.
      I’m glad you liked the color! :)

  2. Alexlyndra says:

    Wow, that’s matte alright! Awesome matte finish and nice colour!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Alexlyndra! I like mattes, but not for everyday. I should have added a topcoat to it before I got rid of it!

  3. I adore this color! I love the bumps! the warty pickle bumps… oh my. I think about them all the time. i need them

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Laine, LOL! You’re obsessed with the warty pickle bumps too? I liked them a lot, though it made the finish kind of weird. Why shouldn’t bumpy nails get a chance to come out now and again?

  4. Rachel says:

    I’ve been reading your blogs since last year and i seriously love this matte one, and the previous dark green matte as well.. i love matte a lot!
    i think i’ll try to look for rice powder and try it out too~! ^^

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Rachel, thanks for stopping by! Try a matte franken with rice powder, or even white face powder. Talcum and stuff won’t work because it will make a more satin, clumpy finish.

  5. Violet says:

    Good luck with the puppies, I went to Ueno zoo last time I visited and it was one of the saddest places I’ve ever seen.
    And that Matte looks fantastic! I’m going to try out the rice powder idea, I would never have thought of that!

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Violet- Ugh, I’ve heard terrible things about the Ueno Zoo and always gave it a pretty wide berth. Recently, the panda died, so it’s been attracting less visitors. Japan has a long way to go on animal welfare.

    I”m glad you liked the matte finish- see what you can make!

  7. Magnolia says:

    Good luck and please keep us updated on what happens with the pup abuse!! Hearing about that makes me so sad.

    Excellent matte, and beautiful hydrangea pics.

  8. Lucy says:

    Hi Jen! I’m sorry your visit had to be upset by that awful peting zoo. I’m glad you were at least vigilant about the animals. The flowers are beautiful. I never heard of a red hydrangea. I would like to see that one. I love your bumpy color. It is really beautiful.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I’m both glad and sad I saw the puppy hell, because I’m going to do my darndest to try and make sure the dogs are better taken care of and at least get some shelter and breaks from the kids. I’ll start by contacting PETA Asia Pacific. PETA are wacky but they should have some good ideas about who to contact and steps to take. I’m not gonna have a naked protest, though. I would if it would truly help, but I suspect it wouldn’t.

      Glad you liked the bumpies, I can’t seem to get the finish perfectly smooth. I think they add some character.

  9. Liz says:

    I know how it feels to see something like that and not know what to do. I spent a year in Korea and some of the things you see them do to animals is HORRIBLE! I actually ended up bringing a dog back with me and if I had not had to stop at one I would have a hell of a lot more than one. But at least he didnt end up on a dinner plate. Good luck over there. I do believe Korea has an SPCA or something similar, but I don’t know about Japan. Def keep us updated. They need all the help they can get :(

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Liz! I’m going to contact PETA Asia-Pacific. I don’t always agree 100% with what they do, but I think they’ll be able to point me in the right direction.

      • Liz says:

        HAHA I agree about the PETA thing. Maybe they can help you out and get some much needed redemption at the same time :) Let me know!

  10. Pingback: Being Fabulous, Not Cruel « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

