Essie Starry Starry Night

This is a hard to find color from Essie that I actually got a few requests to franken. It’s really nice and also easy to franken!

First off, you will need Orly Star of  Bombay, a deep, deep navy blue creme. It’s the only navy blue I have found with no red in it at all. This also makes a really good RBL Dead Calm franken too.

I used 10 drops Orly Star of Bombay and 2 drops Color Club 220V, a neon-y blue. Any medium blue would work- Misa Pour Me Something Tall and Strong would also be a good choice. The medium blue will lighten up the Orly a little bit so it doesn’t look quite so black.  I added 5 drops of clear polish to the mixture and mixed well. From there, I added a teeny scoop of the smallest silver glitter I could find. It has to be really fine- the SSN doesn’t have chunky glitter.

IMG_4978

Here’s what I got:

IMG_4954

IMG_4962

IMG_4966

I made my own original franken a while back using Orly SOB and some holo glitter that I actually prefer to the Starry Starry night, but this is also a gorgeous color.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Darks, Famous Frankens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Essie Starry Starry Night

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    OH MY GOSH, it’s absolutely to die for! I love it! I’d do almost everything to get this one..

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Glad you liked it! You can get the Orly really easily, and any silver glitter or glitter polish will do- give it a try. :)

  3. Lucy says:

    I don’t own the original. From what I remember it looks pretty close to me. Nice job and seems easy enough to franken. Thanks Jen for getting to everyones requests so soon.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Lucy- this is an easy one. The Orly is a great color to have in a franken kit because there’s no hint of red in it, unlike many other dark blues. It also looks fabulous mixed with a silver holo glitter polish.

  4. Deniz says:

    Thank you for this beautiful franken! I love it =)

  5. Sandra says:

    beautiful! :)

  6. wonderful job once again!! You are so good at doing these, you really have an eye for what colors to mix to get the end result you are looking for!

Leave a Reply

