Diving Girl Orange

I’m fond of vintage advertising and old ephemera- like bits of antique wrapping paper or old postcards.  I put some old fruit-crate label stickers in my kitchen, and I was inspired to make a franken by the mysteriously named “Diving Girl Apples.” No word on why the ‘apples’ are actually orange, or why they look sort of like basketballs with a stem. But the color inspired me.

img_4928

I got the entire China Glaze Summer Days collection, but found I wasn’t crazy about the Raspberry Festival shade, because it was too orange for my pale hands. So…..franken time!

I used 1/3 Rasperry Festival, 1/3 OPI Lemonade Stand by Your Man, and 1/3 OPI Megawatt?!

img_4930

Here’s the result:

img_4922

img_4923

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diving Girl Orange

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    What can be better than use polishes you’re not that fond of and make a franken? I’ve not done it yet but I have in mind. Even though it doesn’t really look like an apple the idea is nice! I like this franken. :)

  2. Lucy says:

    Pretty color. Good idea to use the color for something else. The apples look like peaches.

  3. very glowy! I have never heard of those apples, is that a real kind of apples? got me curious over some orange apples! Changes the meaning of comparing apples to oranges though, doesn’t it?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Brooke- LOL! I think the artist was just trying to imagine what they looked like- unless apple shapes have totally changed since the 1940s. I like OPI Megawatt?! for making a sort of glowy franken, but any color with a yellow or gold flash will do nicely.

  4. Gabrielle says:

    ooo I like this one.

Leave a Reply

